by Eddi ReaderEddi Reader


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


2003's excellent Eddi Reader Sings the Songs of Robert Burns found the Glasgow native exploring her Scottish roots, a thread she continues to uncoil on Peacetime. Whether the piece is traditional or contemporary, Reader is a first-class interpreter of songs, and her abilities as a singer are indisputably rare. While she can wield her regional lilt like a highland princess ("Mary and the Soldier"), Reader never comes across as a Celtic folk singer. 2002's Driftwood found her tackling tunes from the pens of North American songwriters like Ron Sexsmith and David Rawlings, and Peacetime, despite its overall penchant for traditional works, feels more like that album than it does the Burns collection -- Reader's two duets with the Trash Can Sinatras' John Douglas are highlights. Produced by lauded fiddler John McCusker, who added a lovely brass quintet to the "Shepherd's Song," the arrangements are impeccable, though a tad on the safe, adult contemporary side -- both "Galileo (Someone Like You)" and the title cut are lovely but impossibly shiny, but fans of Reader and her closest contemporary Kate Rusby will find much to love here, especially on charming renditions of "Calton Weaver" (better known as "Nancy Whiskey" to all of you Pogues fans) and Burns' "Leezie Lindsay," and listeners who count the contributions of longtime guitarist Boo Hewerdine as high points of each album will love his superb "Muddy Water." [Peacetime was also released with a bonus track.]

Product Details

Release Date: 02/20/2007
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397444925
catalogNumber: 4449
Rank: 105354

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddi Reader   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Alison Brown   Banjo
Ian Carr   Guitar
Richard Evans   Cornet
Andy Cutting   Accordion
Roy Dodds   Percussion,Drums
John Enrico Douglas   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Boo Hewerdine   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Alan Kelly   Accordion
Greg Lawson   Violin
James MacKintosh   Percussion
John McCusker   Fiddle,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Cittern,Guitar (Tenor)
Donald Shaw   Harmonium,Wurlitzer
Ewen Vernal   Bass,Double Bass
Neil Yates   Brass
Fiona Stephen   Violin
Phil Cunningham   Accordion
Michael McGoldrick   Flute,Pipe,Human Whistle
Paul Livingston   Guitar
Kevin McGuire   Double Bass
Rudi DeGroote   Cello
Matt Broadbent   Tuba
Kobus Frick   Viola
Gavin Hall   Flugelhorn
Michael Howley   Euphonium
Richeal Reader-Thomson   Background Vocals
Nick Stones   French Horn
Meg Reader-Thomson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Ian Carr   Arranger
Richard Evans   Arranger
Eddi Reader   Arranger,Composer
Keith Bird   Engineer
Roy Dodds   Arranger
John Enrico Douglas   Arranger,Cover Photo
Boo Hewerdine   Arranger,Composer
Alan Kelly   Arranger
Greg Lawson   String Arrangements
John McCusker   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Paul McGeechan   Engineer
Phil Cunningham   Arranger
Andy Seward   Engineer
Kevin McGuire   Arranger
Jeff Teader   Cover Design
Traditional   Composer
Colin Reid   Arranger
Matt Broadbent   Arranger
Gavin Hall   Arranger
Michael Howley   Arranger
Joe Rusby   Engineer
Nick Stones   Arranger

Customer Reviews