Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Peaceful Journey

Peaceful Journey

by Heavy D & the Boyz Heavy D & the Boyz
Peaceful Journey

Peaceful Journey

by Heavy D & the Boyz Heavy D & the Boyz


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 3


Heavy D. maintained his high visibility in both the R&B and rap markets with his third album, Peaceful Journey. The title says a lot about Heavy's outlook -- he was never an inflammatory, confrontational rapper, and generally sought to entertain rather than challenge. While most of this melodic, very R&B-ish album (which includes his remake of the Gamble & Huff classic "Now That We've Found Love") is fun and escapist in nature, the self-proclaimed Overweight Lover shows himself to be a noteworthy and effective social commentator on the title song, "Letter to the Future" (which urges a teenage criminal to change his ways) and "Sister Sister" -- a salute to Black women clearly written in response to misogyny in rap. Whether being socio-political or simply aiming to entertain, Heavy still makes it clear that he has a lot of technique.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/02/1991
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811028923
catalogNumber: 10289
Rank: 76431


  1. Now That We Found Love
  2. Let It Rain
  3. I Can Make You Go Oooh
  4. Sister Sister
  5. Don't Curse
  6. Peaceful Journey
  7. The Lover's Got What U Need
  8. Cuz He'z Alwayz Around
  9. Is It Good to You
  10. Letter to the Future
  11. Swinging with Da Hevster
  12. Body and Mind
  13. Do Me, Do Me
  14. Somebody for Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Heavy D & the Boyz   Primary Artist
Big Daddy Kane   Track Performer
Johnny Gill   Vocals
Daddy Freddy   Background Vocals,Track Performer
Lady Levi   Background Vocals
Grand Puba   Track Performer
Aaron Hall   Vocals
Howie Tee   Multi Instruments
Akema Johnson   Background Vocals
Cliff Lighty   Background Vocals
Darren Lighty   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Tammy Lucas   Background Vocals
Q-Tip   Track Performer
Kool G Rap   Track Performer
Teddy Riley   Multi Instruments
C.L. Smooth   Track Performer
Eric Williams   Background Vocals
DJ Eddie F   Multi Instruments
Pete Rock   Multi Instruments
Nevelle Hodge   Background Vocals
Joel "JoJo" Hailey   Vocals
Cedric "K-Ci" Hailey   Vocals
Marlon Williams   Keyboards
Alethea Graham   Background Vocals
Heavy D   Rap
Cherelle Wright   Background Vocals
Dave "Jam" Hall   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Heavy D & the Boyz   Producer,Executive Producer
Chris Champion   Engineer
André Harrell   Executive Producer
Howie Tee   Producer
David Kennedy   Engineer
Darren Lighty   Programming
Marley Marl   Producer,Engineer
Mark Partis   Remixing
Angela Piva   Engineer
Teddy Riley   Producer
DJ Eddie F   Producer,Executive Producer
Pete Rock   Producer
Nevelle Hodge   Producer
Marlon Williams   Programming
Dave Way   Engineer
Booker T. Jones   Engineer
Dave "Jam" Hall   Producer

Customer Reviews