Peace of Mind [3-CD]

Peace of Mind [3-CD]

by RebelutionRebelution

CD(Special Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Having combined the Cali-reggae sound of Sublime with a jam band attitude years ago, Rebelution were well into their groove by the time Peace of Mind rolled around, and they had the sizable, loyal fan base to prove it, too. As such, this "on top of our game" album doesn't try hard to please, and when a rock-reggae group starts a song with "Woke up this morning" -- which happen here -- it's dangerously close to clichéd territory, but the enthusiasm, the musical skills, and the cottage industry love poured into this effort overcome the arguable shortcomings. When "Route Around" drives by with its pop ballad style and nylon-string guitar solo, the bar is raised and the horizon is broadened; then add a love of nature that's beautifully communicated through "Meant to Be" and Rebelution are much more than a bleach-blond crew stumbling out of a van telling all the "suits" to "chill." Still, they retain enough of that surfer dude mojo to be charming, and while Peace of Mind often leads with its "good vibes," there's a deep impact to be had here and there. Plus, "Comfort Zone" makes that "try to think of nothing" thing sound so good that any poignancy shoehorned in would really harsh its mellow. [A three-disc, 43-track version was also released.]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/10/2012
Label: Controlled Substance
UPC: 0020286167372
catalogNumber: 16732
Rank: 47500

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rebelution   Primary Artist
Vince Denham   Saxophone
Jeff Elliott   Trumpet
John Popper   Harmonica
Lutan Fyah   Vocals
Michael Goldwasser   Tambourine
Meghan Lehman   Background Vocals
S. GAINES   Vocals
John Asher   Percussion
Khris Royal   Saxophone,EWI
Yair Slutzki   Trombone
Jacob Hemphill   Vocals
Shlomi Alon   Saxophone
Sefi Zisling   Trumpet
Wesley Finley   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Rory Carey   Synthesizer,Piano (Grand),Hammond B3
Marley D. Williams   Bass
Eric Rachmany   Guitar,Vocals
Noam Geva   Bouzouki
Koichi Sanchez   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Mellotron,fender rhodes
Kenny Belcher   Guitar
Jessica Goldman   Background Vocals
Ilan Noy-Meir   Oud
Eva Gerard   Viola
Erica Nagashima   Background Vocals
Devon Pangle   Guitar
Yo-Yo Fann   Violin

Technical Credits

Errol Brown   Engineer
Dominic Camardella   Engineer
Eric Singer   Composer
Matt Phillips   Management
Keith Armstrong   Engineer,Additional Production
Paul Schellack   Engineer
Amp Live   Producer
Jon Phillips   Management
Michael Goldwasser   Engineer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements,Additional Production
Rebelution   Producer
Yeti Beats   Producer,Engineer
Jaime Cruz   Producer
S. GAINES   Composer
Jacob Hemphill   Composer
Lutah Fyah   Composer
Wesley Finley   Composer
Rory Carey   Composer
Marley D. Williams   Composer,Art Direction
Tomas Del Toro-Diaz   Engineer
Aviv Ram   Engineer
Eric Rachmany   Composer
Jameson Hodder   Composer
Dean Raise   Management
David Klemes   Engineer
Abel Aquino   Artwork,Art Direction

Customer Reviews