by DesaparecidosDesaparecidos


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Two albums in 13 years is hardly the mark of a high-functioning punk rock unit, but Desaparecidos is a Conor Oberst joint. The prolific Nebraskan hasn't exactly been resting on his laurels, with nearly a dozen full-length outings seeing the light of day (under his own name, Bright Eyes, Monsters of Folk, etc.) since the release of the band's 2002 debut, Read Music/Speak Spanish. After reuniting for a series of shows in 2012, Desaparecidos issued a quartet of singles, all of which make an appearance on the spectacular Payola, a nervy collection of retro socio-political punk rock anthems shot through with enough pure '70s power pop acumen to ignite every lighter in the Nippon Budokan. Louder and more focused than its predecessor, though no less raw and impacting, Payola houses a laundry list of grievances, from the 1% vs. the occupy movement ("Left Is Right") and Arizona anti-immigration advocate and Maricopa County sheriff Joe Arpaio ("MariKKKopa"), to senseless mall shootings ("Von Maur Massacre) and white collar crime ("Golden Parachutes"). The latter cut is one of three to feature a guest spot (Brooklyn punk rockers the So So Glos and Cursive's Tim Kasher join the non-pity party on "Slacktivist" and "City on the Hill," respectively), and it serves up one of the album's strongest melodic moments, with a fevered Oberst sharing the mike with Against Me! frontwoman Laura Jane Grace and the band tearing it up "White Riot"-era Clash style. Politically charged punk rock can be an exhausting and overtly self-righteous affair in the wrong hands, but Oberst and company temper their outrage with unadulterated melodic might, resulting in that rare protest album that rewards both the condemners and the condemned.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/23/2015
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778737925
catalogNumber: 87379
Rank: 119311

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Desaparecidos   Primary Artist
Tim Kasher   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Landon Hedges   Bass,Vocals
Conor Oberst   Guitar,Vocals
Matt Baum   Drums
Denver Dalley   Guitar
Ian McElroy   Keyboards
So So Glos   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Phil Reno   Guitar
Laura Jane Grace   Vocals,Guest Appearance
Ralph Remmert   Vocals,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Mike Mogis   Producer,Engineer
Desaparecidos   Composer,Producer
Zack Nipper   Artwork,Layout
Corina Figueroa Escamilla   Engineer
Ben Brodin   Engineer

Customer Reviews