Pasture Prime

Pasture Prime

by Asleep at the WheelAsleep at the Wheel


$15.95 $16.99 Save 6% Current price is $15.95, Original price is $16.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, May 24


Part of Stony Plain's Classics series, this is actually a re-release of an album that was originally released in 1984 on vinyl in Canada and England. Pasture Prime was a comeback of sorts for the band; they had not recorded in five years, and -- had it not been for the generosity of one Willie Nelson -- this one might not have happened either. Nelson, a big fan of the band, graciously offered his Briarcliff, TX, studio for the recording of several of the songs here. Pasture Prime sports just two originals: founder Ray Benson's "Shorty" and "Liar's Moon." There are three Bob Wills tunes: "Across the Alley From the Alamo," the instrumental "Big Beaver," and the traditional "Deep Water." Fiddler Johnny Gimble is on board for nearly all cuts, and Jr. Brown makes one of his first recording appearances, playing lap steel guitar on "Deep Water" and "That's Your Red Wagon." The entire Roomful of Blues horn section brings an extra helping of Kansas City-style swing to Big Joe Turner's "Switchin' in the Kitchen," and female vocalist Chris O'Connell is in top form throughout. Not without a laugh, Willie Nelson contributes a hilarious song he wrote as a jab at music industry executives and country "purists" called "Write Your Own Song." As a duet between Nelson and Benson, it neatly segues into the traditional "Cotton Eyed Joe," which features some very nice piano playing at the hands of Floyd Domino. This CD of classic western swing closes with a friendly, informative, 17-minute interview with Benson, conducted by Holger Petersen just prior to the re-release.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/13/1998
Label: Stony Plain Music
UPC: 0772532125123
catalogNumber: 1251
Rank: 85397


  1. Across the Alley from the Alamo
  2. Switchin' in the Kitchen
  3. Write Your Own Song
  4. Cotton Eyed Joe
  5. Baby
  6. Shorty
  7. The Chick's Too Young to Fry
  8. Big Beaver
  9. This Is the Way We Make a Broken Heart
  10. Deep Water
  11. The Natural Thing to Do
  12. Liar's Moon
  13. That's Your Red Wagon
  14. Interview with Ray Benson

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Asleep at the Wheel   Primary Artist
Johnny Gimble   Banjo,Fiddle,Mandolin
Willie Nelson   Guitar,Vocals
Paul Anastasio   Fiddle
Tom Anastasio   Bass
Ray Benson   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Junior Brown   Lap Steel Guitar
Floyd Domino   Piano
Michael Francis   Saxophone
Kerri Lay   Strings
Danny Levin   Strings
Chris O'Connell   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Spencer Starnes   Bass
Steve Schwelling   Drums
Andy Murphy   Background Vocals
Mike Watkins   Guitar
Tim Alexander   Piano
Falkner Evans   Piano

Technical Credits

Johnny Gimble   Arranger
Willie Nelson   Producer
Paul Young   Composer
Cohn   Composer
Bobby Arnold   Engineer
Ray Benson   Arranger,Composer,Producer,String Arrangements
Bob Enos   Contributor
Jim Finney   Engineer
Bill Ginn   String Arrangements
Joe Green   Composer
Larry Greenhill   Engineer
Paul Harrison   Engineer
Rich Lataille   Contributor
Holger Petersen   Reissue Producer,Interviewer
Spencer Starnes   Horn Arrangements
Doug Schecht   Contributor
Rob Storeshaw   Reissue Design
J. Michael Greene   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Joe Greene   Composer
Rudolph Moore   Composer

Customer Reviews