Paradise Hotel

Paradise Hotel

by Eliza GilkysonEliza Gilkyson


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 22


Paradise Hotel is singer-songwriter Eliza Gilkyson's follow-up to her Grammy-nominated contemporary folk album Land of Milk and Honey. Producer Mark Hallman returns, as does a spectrum of talented guest musicians, including Shawn Colvin, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Marcia Ball, Slaid Cleaves, and Jeff Plankenhorn. Smart songwriting and ingenious arrangements grace the ten-song collection, all written or co-written by Gilkyson with the exception of a cover of World Party’s sublime “Is It Like Today.” All in all, the songs are less political than Gilkyson’s typical fare, albeit still more humanistic than confessional. "Man of God" however, is the striking exception, a thinly disguised protest against the Bush regime. It is tough to pick a favorite, let alone a favorite few -- however, "Requiem," a hymnlike song written for the victims and families of the 2004 Asian tsunami, sounds about as close to paradise as it gets.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/09/2005
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651018728
catalogNumber: 187
Rank: 48910


  1. Borderline
  2. Paradise Hotel
  3. Man of God
  4. Jedidiah 1777
  5. Bellarosa
  6. Think About You
  7. Is It Like Today?
  8. Calm Before the Storm
  9. Requiem
  10. When You Walk On

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eliza Gilkyson   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Pump Organ
Marcia Ball   Choir, Chorus
Shawn Colvin   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Christine Albert   Choir, Chorus
Ray Wylie Hubbard   Choir, Chorus
Slaid Cleaves   Choir, Chorus
Ray Bonneville   Harmonica,Vocals
Rich Brotherton   Mandolin
Tony Gilkyson   Electric Guitar
Mark Hallman   Bass,Electric Guitar,Ocarina,Vocals,Penny Whistle,Mellotron,Vocal Harmony
Danny Levin   Cello,Viola
Robert McEntee   Acoustic Guitar
Michael Ramos   Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Hammond B3
Glenn Fukunaga   Bass
Chris Gage   Choir, Chorus
Mike Hardwick   Dobro,Electric Guitar,Ocarina,Vocals,12-string Guitar,Penny Whistle,Mellotron,Slide Guitar
Darcie Deaville   Fiddle,Choir, Chorus
Ana Egge   Choir, Chorus
Alejandro Diaz   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Bajo Sexto,Requinto
Jeff Plankenhorn   Choir, Chorus,Vocal Harmony
Cisco Ryder   Percussion,Drums,Vocals,Choir, Chorus,Cajon,Vocal Harmony
Edward Hobizal   Organ,Piano
Alejandro Diaz   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Requinto
Delia Castillo   Vocals

Technical Credits

Eliza Gilkyson   Composer,Audio Production
Gary Brooker   Composer
Mark Hallman   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Keith Reid   Composer
Karl Wallinger   Composer
Chris Gage   Engineer
Jorge Castillo   Composer
Ned Stewart   Engineer

Customer Reviews