Panhandle Rambler

Panhandle Rambler

by Joe ElyJoe Ely


$13.31 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.31, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 30


Panhandle Rambler, the 14th studio album by veteran alt-country troubadour Joe Ely, is a thoughtful 12-song meditation on life in the Texas Panhandle. More dusty and windblown than anything he's done in years, he creates a world of wide-open vistas, bleak desert fringes, and the folks who call that square plot of Northern Texas and the Southern Oklahoma plains their own. A native of Lubbock, Ely has always had a heart full of the Lonestar State, and the eerie Southwestern flavor he presents here, while familiar to fans of his music, feels particularly robust and concentrated on this set of tunes. Rather than create a strict narrative, he describes the region in evocative sketches on songs like the lonesome "Wounded Creek" and "Coyotes Are Howlin'," each rippling with nimble Spanish guitars and fluttering accordions. The production is effectively sparse, even on more uptempo tracks like the strident barn burner "Southern Eyes" and the warm honky tonk of "Here's to the Weary," a name-dropping paean to the hard-living traveling musician. Ely is at his best, though, on the moodier, more introspective tunes like "Cold Black Hammer," a haunting ballad of Texas's ever-present oil rigs, and especially on his cover of fellow Texan (and close friend) Guy Clark's "Magdalene," which provides the most poignant vehicle for his gentle timeworn tenor. As a thematic mood piece, Panhandle Rambler hits its mark squarely, and the songs themselves are of the consistent high quality listeners have come to expect from Ely who, for reasons unknown, still seems to be one of Texas' more underappreciated exports.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/18/2015
Label: Rack'em Records
UPC: 0678572219139
catalogNumber: 6


  1. Wounded Creek
  2. Magdalene
  3. Coyotes Are Howlin'
  4. When the Nights Are Cold
  5. Early in the Mornin'
  6. Southern Eyes
  7. Four Ol' Brokes
  8. Wonderin' Where
  9. Burden of Your Load
  10. Here's to the Weary
  11. Cold Black Hammer
  12. You Saved Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Ely   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Jim Hoke   Lap Steel Guitar,Bass Harmonica
Davis McLarty   Drums
Gary Nicholson   Acoustic Guitar
Jimmy Pettit   Bass Guitar
Kenny Vaughan   Electric Guitar
Kenny Vaughn   Electric Guitar
Rob Gjersoe   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar
Jeff Plankenhorn   Mandolin,Electric Guitar,spanish guitar
Warren Hood   Fiddle
Pat Manske   Percussion,Drums
Joel Guzman   Accordion,Keyboards
David Holt   Electric Guitar
Glen Fukunaga   Bass Guitar
Dave Roe   Bass Guitar
Teye Wijnterp   Flamenco Guitar
Gary Harmen   Bass Guitar

Technical Credits

Guy Clark   Composer
Butch Hancock   Composer
Joe Ely   Composer,Producer
Little Johnny Fader   Engineer
Jim Wilson   Engineer
Ray Stephenson   Composer
Tom Freitag   Engineer
Don Boles   Engineer

Customer Reviews