Original Folkways Recordings: 1960-1962

Original Folkways Recordings: 1960-1962

by Doc WatsonDoc Watson


$25.91 $26.99 Save 4% Current price is $25.91, Original price is $26.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 28


This important release documents the rediscovery of banjoist and comedian Clarence (Tom) Ashley in the early '60s, and the simultaneous introduction of a young and then-unknown guitar picker, the astounding Doc Watson. Ashley was one of the many musicians of the '20s and '30s whose early work appeared briefly on Harry Smith's 1952 Anthology of American Folk Music, the legendary collection that provided inspiration for much of the subsequent folk revival; as well as fueling up-and-coming urban "folk-singers" with a wealth of material, Smith's anthology ultimately led to the rediscovery and re-recording of such musicians as Dock Boggs, Mississippi John Hurt, and Ashley, who himself initiated the discovery of his neighbor, Doc Watson. At the time of the earliest recordings in this two-disc set, Ashley was some 20 years out of practice, while Watson's only outlet for performance was as an electric guitar player in a nearby rockabilly band; Watson did not own an acoustic guitar, nor Ashley a banjo. Over the course of these initial field recordings and later concert performances, however, Watson and Ashley demonstrate remarkable familiarity with local traditions, repertoire, and styles, showcasing and continually sharpening their profound skills and aesthetic senses. They are joined on various performances by a handful of fine local musicians, including Clint Howard, Fred Price, and Gaither Carlton. For much of the '60s, this loose ensemble toured colleges and festivals, also producing material for the Folkways LPs Old Time Music at Clarence Ashley's, Vol. 1 and Vol. 2. This 1994 reissue includes material from those albums along with 20 additional selections from the period and excellent notes by folklorist Ralph Rinzler. Included are the very first commercially released recordings by Doc Watson, who emerges here as a formidable soloist; also featuring some of the last recordings by veteran Clarence Ashley, the set is required listening for Watson fans and for enthusiasts of old-time music, its entertainment value as strong as its historical significance. The surprising offspring of the urban revival's intersection with a traditional musical community, Watson and Ashley's Original Folkways Recordings reveals a bottomless well of tradition and a music as fresh and exciting today as it was to the college kids and festival followers of the early '60s.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/28/1994
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093074002926
catalogNumber: 40029
Rank: 48037


Disc 1

  1. Crawdad Song
  2. Sitting on Top of the World
  3. Lee Highway Blues
  4. Free Little Bird
  5. The Cuckoo
  6. Rising Sun Blues
  7. Looking T'ward Heaven
  8. Rambling Hobo
  9. Rambling Hobo
  10. Shady Grove
  11. Cumberland Gap
  12. Tough Luck
  13. Humpbacked Mule
  14. My Home's Across The Blue Ridge Mountains
  15. Way Downtown
  16. Banks Of The Ohio
  17. Little Sadie
  18. Carroll County Blues
  19. Cluck Old Hen
  20. Chilly Winds (Lonesome Road Blues)
  21. Sweet Heaven When I Die
  22. Fire On The Mountain
  23. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
  24. Daniel Prayed
  25. Amazing Grace

Disc 2

  1. Sally Ann
  2. Richmond Blues
  3. Old Ruben
  4. Willie Moore
  5. Walking Boss
  6. Shout Lulu
  7. Skillet Good and Greasy
  8. Pretty Little Pink
  9. Run, Jimmie, Run
  10. Hicks' Farewell
  11. The Old Man At The Mill
  12. A Short Life Of Trouble
  13. Brown's Dream
  14. Footprints In The Snow
  15. I'm Going Back to Jericho
  16. Peg and Awl
  17. Maggie Walker Blues
  18. God's Gonna Ease My Troublin' Mind
  19. I Saw A Man At The Close Of Day
  20. Handsome Molly
  21. John Henry
  22. Honey Babe Blues
  23. Wayfaring Pilgrim

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Doc Watson   Primary Artist,Banjo,Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Jean Ritchie   Vocal Harmony
Jack Johnson   Banjo
Clint Howard   Guitar,Vocals
Gaither Carlton   Banjo,Fiddle,Track Performer
Ralph Rinzler   Guitar,Track Performer
Arnold Watson   Harmonica,Tenor (Vocal),Track Performer
Fred Price   Fiddle,Track Performer
Garley Foster   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocal Harmony
Doc Walsh   Banjo,Vocal Harmony
Tommy Moore   Washboard
Clarence Ashley   Banjo,Vocals,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Doc Watson   Arranger,Composer
Clint Howard   Arranger
Walter Vinson   Composer
Gaither Carlton   Arranger
Lonnie Chatmon   Composer
John Newton   Composer
Ralph Rinzler   Engineer,Liner Notes,Executive Producer
Fred Price   Arranger
Garley Foster   Sound Effects
G.B. Grayson   Composer
Henry Whitter   Composer
M. Christian   Composer
Clarence Ashley   Arranger
Public Domain   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Eugene Earle   Engineer
Arvel Watson   Composer
Miller   Composer
Rupert Jones   Composer
Luther G. Presley   Composer

Customer Reviews