by Michael O'NeillMichael O'Neill

SACD(Super Audio CD)

$9.97 $9.99 Save 0% Current price is $9.97, Original price is $9.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


You won't often hear these in the same sentence, but to enjoy this album you'll need to love both bagpipes and new music. Michael O'Neill's Ontophony is not easy listening, by any means, but a fascinating experiment that succeeds at times, and at others falls into a great noodling trap. The first cut, "A Walk Supreme," captures the imagination with four sets of pipes and tabla, and elsewhere, where pipes and shakuhachi work together, it's interesting, but pipes and taiko can get somewhat self-indulgent. As for the compositions, they meander somewhat, and it's hard to get a full sense of O'Neill's technical ability as a piper from them. However, if you fancy something quite different, this could be right up your glen.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2006
Label: Songlines
UPC: 0774355240526
catalogNumber: 2405
Rank: 17803

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael O'Neill   Primary Artist
Duncan Millar   Snare Drums
Andrew Douglas   Bagpipes
Michael O'Neill   Bagpipes,Cymbals,Drums,Bass Drums,Pipe
Alcvin Takegawa Ramos   Shakuhachi,Didjeridu
Andrew Hayes   Bagpipes
Mearingstone   Ensemble
Boyd Seiichi Grealy   Dumbek,Djembe,taiko
Andrew Bonar   Bagpipes
Jason Overy   Claves,taiko,Tibetan Finger Cymbals
Bonnie Soon   taiko,Shakere,Chinese Drums
Uzume Taiko   Ensemble
Neelamjit Dhillon   Tabla
Bonnie Soon   Cymbals,taiko
Andrew Bonar   Bagpipes
Boyd Seiichi Grealy   Dumbek,Cymbals,Djembe,taiko
Jason Overy   Cymbals,taiko

Technical Credits

Michael O'Neill   Composer
Tony Reif   Producer
Duncan Millar   Drum Arrangements
Michael O'Neill   Producer
Sheldon Saharko   Engineering
Boyd Seiichi Grealy   Contributor
Jason Overy   Contributor
Bruce Pashak   Artwork
Ernest Mayer   Cover Photo
Bonnie Soon   Contributor
Lorraine Thompson   Artwork
Robert Houle   Cover Painting

Customer Reviews