One Summer of Surrender

One Summer of Surrender

by Jess Michaels

Paperback

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Overview

A hot historical romance from USA Today Bestselling Romance Author Jess MichaelsLucien, the Earl of Stenfax has been engaged twice, but only in love once. That was with his childhood sweetheart, Elise. When she threw him over for a man with more money and a higher ranking title, it broke him. Now she's widowed and he finds himself drawn to her again, like a moth to her flame.Elise had her reasons for walking away from Lucien, reasons he doesn't understand. Back in Society, she's now financially desperate and is even considering becoming someone's mistress. But Lucien keeps appearing at the most inopportune moments and it's only a matter of time before the desire between them explodes.Time will tell if Lucien will be able to see past his lusty drive for revenge. And if Elise can convince him she's worthy of more, despite the past.Length: Full-length novelSensuality level: Hot and steamy

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781539559320
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 11/08/2016
Series: Seasons , #3
Pages: 230
Sales rank: 632,971
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.52(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Summer of Surrender (Seasons, #3) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Historical_Romance_Lover More than 1 year ago
I loved Lucien and Elise's story!! Reunion stories are always one of my favorites and this one did not disappoint!! Lucien had never gotten over Elise and does his best to never be in the same place as her, but eventually his luck runs out...or does it?!? Having endured a horrible marriage and left with nothing, Elise is uncertain what her future holds. I loved watching these two find their way back to each other and I'm so excited to see how Felicity finds her HEA in the conclusion of the series!
sportochick More than 1 year ago
The dramatic Prologue was the perfect setup for this well plotted story about lost love. It broke my heart and all I can say is "I want to be loved that much". The beginning to this story in chapter one is dramatic and eventful leading the reader to become deeply involved in the push and pull relationship of Elise and Lucien. This interaction continues throughout the story causing the reader to wonder if there will be a happy ending to this story. All I can say is keep reading to the very end. While reading I decided I want to be like Elise. Though some people would feel she was weak I did not. I admire how far she goes to protect those she loves. I admire how she choses to not be a victim. But I really admire how she dealt with Lucien in the past and the present. I would want to be strong like her if I were ever in the same situation as her. The author puts together a male main character, Lucien, that shows a brokenness in him as well as his strength of character. He is real and it was pleasurable reading about a man that was not perfect in every way. His emotions are clearly defined and the reader will feel his struggle as they continue through the book. Secondary characters have been developed in much the same way as Lucien and the reader will want to know the back history to both Lucien's brother and sister as well as other characters in this book. I will definitely go back and read the first two books to this series because I have to know more about them from conversations in this book. I give this 4 STARS for being an extremely hot emotional read.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
One Summer of Surrender by Jess Michaels is another superb addition to her "Seasons" series. Book 3 in her superbly written "Seasons" series, while it be read as a standalone, I'd suggest reading "An Affair in Winter" and "A Spring Deception", for background information on the characters, etc. But absolutely not necessary! Jess Michaels stories are suspenseful, passionate, sensual, compelling and emotionally charged. "One Summer of Surrender" is definitely suspenseful with surprises galore! Faced paced, with engaging characters, and a powerfully charged storyline. The Prologue is 3 years prior to this story, which gives readers a glimpse into Lucian and Elise's broken engagement. This is Lucien, the Earl of Stenfax and Elise's story of lies, misunderstandings, second chances, secrets, revenge, that is gut-wrenching, as well as, sensually charged, and a passionate love story. There is so much more to "One Summer of Surrender" than surrender, broken hearts, there is the promise of healing, forgiveness and the promise of Lucian and Elise finding their HEA. If they can leave the past in the past, and Lucian can learn to let go of his broken heart and see a brillant and love inspired future. Or will Elise's secret destroy all their happiness. Another must read by Jess Michaels! The ending gives readers a glimpse into the next and final book about Felicity and her love interest. I so look forward to Felicity's story. I have been reading Ms. Michaels for years and she has never disappointed me. She is another one of my favorite authors. She writes with passion, and gives readers insight into her characters' hearts. She captures readers interests, and their hearts, as well as, holds them in suspense and utter awe. Fans of Regency Romance, Sensually charged romance, second chances, and past love are sure to enjoy "One Summer of Surrender". "Seasons" is such are engaging series, I'd highly recommend reading. Magnificent and brilliantly written storytelling! I received a complimentary copy. Rating: 4 5 Heat rating: Hot/ steamy Reviewed by: AprilR
TammyS32 More than 1 year ago
Great addition to this series! I have been waiting for Lucien’s story since the first book. Lucian and Elise had been childhood sweethearts until she ended their engagement and married someone with more ranking. Now that her husband has died, she has been left penniless and is looking for a protector, what will happen when she runs in to Lucien again? Hooked from beginning to end, wonderful historical read with plenty of chemistry and steam. Loved it!
stanhope3234 More than 1 year ago
I love Jess Michaels books and again this one does not disappoint. This second chance romance book has everything a good romantic suspense should have. A strong love between two wounded souls who,are brought back together each out of the need for a type of protection they need. Lord Lucian Stenfax feels nothing but hatred for Dutchess "Elise" Kirkford since she threw him over for a man of higher means three years ago. But there's a fine line between love and hate and Lucian is about to find out just how hard it will be to stay away from the beautiful Elise. With secrets and danger waiting in the wings to ruin everything they hold dear Lucian and Elise may not have the chance to forgive.
Lashea677 More than 1 year ago
Love can conquer anything. Or so they thought. Lucien offered his heart to the woman of his dreams only to have it thrown callously back at him. Elise will always carry a special place in her heart for her first love, but sometimes love is not enough. When circumstances conspire to keep them apart, can fate in the form of a lady of the evening help them find their second chance? The mystery of the heartbroken Earl has led me on a merry chase since Lucien first graced thel canvas in Gray and Rosalind story. I wanted answers and Jess Michaels puts it all out there. Elise sacrificed her reputation and torpedoed her own happiness to protect the people she loved. It doesn't get more real than that. I shed quite a few tears for what might have been as I hoped and prayed that there would be a chance for these star crossed lovers to begin again. One Summer of Surrender reeks of passion from the emotional turmoil to the tempting attraction. The big reveal of the scandalous secrets was over drawn out but the story itself hyptonizes.