One Lost Day

One Lost Day

by Indigo GirlsIndigo Girls


$16.61 $17.99 Save 8% Current price is $16.61, Original price is $17.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A lot has transpired in the four-year gap between Beauty Queen Sister and One Lost Day, the Indigo Girls' 14th studio album. Amy Ray issued two solo albums, and suddenly lost her father; both women became parents; and Emily Saliers got married. The rich and bittersweet life experiences detailed in these 13 songs will likely surprise longtime fans not because of the poignant content, but because of the way they sound. Saliers and Ray placed themselves in the care of producer and multi-instrumentalist (and unabashed longtime fan) Jordan Brooke Hamlin and mixing engineer Brian Joseph. Hamlin insisted on a lot of pre-production and practice. It pays off big time. Hamlin's sonic palette includes woodwinds, brass, strings, keyboards, loops, and ambient textural elements, woven in a rich but unobtrusive mix placed in service to the songs. Things kick off straightforwardly. The back-porch countryish rock of "Elizabeth" -- one of several excellent confessional lost-love songs here -- is in steady 4/4 with a choogling Crazy Horse vibe. But in the following "Happy in the Sorrow Key," written after Ray's father's passing, things get electric and eclectic. Rave-up guitars and drums clatter under staggered vocal harmonies. In the bridge, a wash of chamber strings frames her vocal as brass enters from the margin and the rhythm section rocks out underneath; one can hear a trace of Paul Weller's brand of soulful, baroque psych in the mix. The breezy "Southern California Is Your Girlfriend" is a broken love ballad played in a shuffle with harmonic guitars ringing in the backdrop and lots of space around the bright harmonies. "Olympia Inn" walks the line between indie, modern country, and Springsteen-esque rock & roll formalism with gorgeous Wurlitzer organ washes competing with chugging distorted guitars, a rumbling bassline, and a gritty lyric delivered with passion and ache. "If I Don't Leave Here Now" features stripped-down piano in a tender sendoff to an addict for the sake of self-preservation. "The Rise of the Black Messiah" is a raging anthem in waltz time. Maximal rockist guitars meld with layered mandolins, soaring bass, strings, and drums as the tale of a man wrongfully convicted of murder and executed is revealed. On "Fishtails," Hamlin erects an indie-esque soundscape around a melody tinged with gospel and folk. Slippery reverbed piano, brass, smeared electric guitars, and banjo hover ethereally above the rhythm section. The title track closes the set with the fruit of gratitude for the experiences and stories shared on the previous 12 tracks. It's classic Indigo Girls with acoustic guitars, blended earthy harmonies, and a blissed-out anthemic chorus. One Lost Day's songs may offer commentary about life's rough adventures but they also express openness, willingness, and tenderness as a result of them. With Hamlin and Joseph as collaborators, Ray and Saliers are looking toward new musical horizons while remaining indelibly themselves.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2015
Label: Welk Records
UPC: 0015707846820
catalogNumber: 784682
Rank: 99807

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Indigo Girls   Primary Artist
Carol Isaacs   Piano,Accordion,Wurlitzer,Muted Piano,Hammond B3
Amy Ray   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Emily Saliers   Dulcimer,Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Hi String
Chris Donohue   Bass
Fred Eltringham   Drums
Don Chaffer   Cello
Brian Joseph   Drums
Lyris Hung   Violin
Lex Price   Bass,Bouzouki
Butterfly Boucher   Bass
Jordan Brooke Hamlin   Organ,Dulcimer,Synthesizer,Bass,Clarinet,Percussion,Piano,Pedal Steel Guitar,Trumpet,Drums,Electric Guitar,French Horn,Keyboards,Vocals,Noise
Jaron Pearlman   Drums,Tambourine
Brady Blade   Drums
Lucy Wainwright Roche   Vocals
Benjamin Ryan Williams   Bass

Technical Credits

Amy Ray   Composer
Emily Saliers   Composer
Don Chaffer   Engineer
Jordan Brooke Hamlin   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Denise Plumb   Artwork
Devin Vaughn   Engineer
Zack Zinck   Engineer
Taylor Pollart   Engineer

Customer Reviews