One Day It Will Please Us to Remember Even This

One Day It Will Please Us to Remember Even This

by New York DollsNew York Dolls


$20.50 $20.99 Save 2% Current price is $20.5, Original price is $20.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


It's never easy to recapture the success of a legendary band, but trying to recreate a supernova -- like the explosive but short-lived New York Dolls -- is all but impossible. This disc, for which original members David Johansen and Sylvain Sylvain have surrounded themselves with like-minded musicians weaned on the Dolls' two brilliant albums, does a remarkable job of doing just that -- not so much turning back the clock as picking up the pieces that made the original band so vital and reassembling them in a fashion that's both respectful and modern. Many of the songs here -- from the sassy, self-referential "Fishnets and Cigarettes" to the trashy R&B workout "Gimme Luv and Turn On the Lights" -- could easily have appeared on a follow-up released hot on the heels of Too Much Too Soon. The cocksure glam-punk attitude -- a switchblade in one hand and a tube of mascara in the other -- is still evident on struts like "Runnin' Around" and "Gotta Get Away from Tommy." Then again, Johansen and Sylvain aren't operating under the impression that they've frozen time sufficiently to remain in their 20s -- as borne out by the fact that they cribbed the title from Virgil's Aeneid, a work that, for whatever reason, hasn't been embraced by all that many garage-rockers over the years. That evolution is also reflected in the poignant but not sappy nature of ballads like "Maimed Happiness," one of several low-key tracks that showcase the warmth and depth of Johansen's baritone. Sometimes, you really can go home again.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/13/2008
Label: Roadrunner Uk
UPC: 0016861810528
catalogNumber: 8105
Rank: 91982

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New York Dolls   Primary Artist
David Johansen   Group Member
Bo Diddley   Guitar
Brian Delaney   Group Member
Brian Koonin   Group Member
Andy Snitzer   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Conte   Group Member

Technical Credits

David Johansen   Composer
Jack Douglas   Producer,Audio Production
Brian Koonin   Composer
Jay Messina   Engineer
Sam Yaffa   Composer
Steve Conte   Composer
Jeff Chenault   Art Direction
Daniel J. Coe   String Arrangements
Leah Victoria Hennessey   Illustrations
Sylvain Sylvain   Composer
Jay Massina   Audio Production

Customer Reviews