On the Rocks

On the Rocks

by MidlandMidland


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


About halfway through their eponymous 2017 debut, Midland sing that their music isn't "Check Cashin' Country," a contention that might not quite square with the trio signing to Big Machine, one of the biggest labels in Nashville in the 2010s. Nevertheless, there's a grain of truth in that sentiment, as the group's debut On the Rocks is proudly out of step with the sounds of commercial country in 2017, containing nary a trace of electronics or hip-hop. Unlike other country throwbacks, Midland don't revive hardfloor honky tonk. They're bringing back the mellow, easy sounds of '80s country, sounding like a cross between Alabama, George Strait, and middle-aged Merle Haggard. On the Rocks also has a heavy dose of Dwight Yoakam -- he can be heard on the sly mariachi underpinnings of "At Least You Cried," and on the lean boogie of "This Old Heart" -- and that's the key to the group's success. Midland picked up on how Yoakam's magpie tendencies were strengthened by strong songcraft, and that lesson is evident throughout On the Rocks. With the assistance of producer Shane McAnally, the three members construct sturdy songs with a shimmering surface to match. Occasionally, the group seem to be winking at the past -- "Electric Rodeo" is a de facto tribute to "Rhinestone Cowboy"-era Glen Campbell -- but On the Rocks is anything but ironic. It's a warm, rich, and detailed love letter to a smooth style of country music that's fallen out of fashion.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/22/2017
Label: Big Machine Records
UPC: 0843930032679
catalogNumber: 0100
Rank: 4716


  1. Lonely for You Only
  2. Make a Little
  3. Drinkin’ Problem
  4. At Least You Cried
  5. Burn Out
  6. Out of Sight
  7. More Than a Fever
  8. Check Cashin’ Country
  9. Nothin’ New Under the Neon
  10. This Old Heart
  11. Altitude Adjustment
  12. Electric Rodeo
  13. Somewhere on the Wind

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Midland   Primary Artist
Dan Dugmore   Steel Guitar
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar,Soloist
Dann Huff   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Hammond Organ,12-string Guitar,Gut String Guitar,Soloist,Guitar (String)
Gordon Mote   Piano
Vinnie Ciesielski   Trumpet
Michael Raphael   Harmonica,Harp
Derek Wells   Electric Guitar,Soloist,Guitar (12 String Electric),Guitar (Baritone)
Ian Fitchuk   Piano
Rob McNelley   Electric Guitar
David Huff   Percussion,Tambourine
Greg Marrow   Percussion,Drums
Danny Rader   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin
Charlie Judge   Accordion,Keyboards
Ilya Toshinskiy   Acoustic Guitar
Cameron Duddy   Bass,Background Vocals
Jess Carson   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dann Huff   Producer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Justin Niebank   Engineer
Rhett Akins   Composer
David Lee Murphy   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer,Producer
Becky Reiser   Graphic Design
Rodney Clawson   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
Ryan Gore   Engineer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Graphic Design
Seth Morton   Engineer
Josh Osborne   Composer,Producer
Jonathan Singleton   Composer
Cameron Duddy   Composer,Art Direction
Jess Carson   Composer
Mark Wystrach   Composer

Customer Reviews