On the Impossible Past

On the Impossible Past

by The MenzingersThe Menzingers


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Pairing punk energy with roots rock warmth, the Menzingers continue to mature their sound on their third album, On the Impossible Past. The album finds the band delivering a wryly nostalgic performance, giving a nod to their punk roots as they embrace the rugged earnestness of the Rust Belt with songs about broken hearts, loneliness, and self-doubt. While a lot of bands have a tendency to mature as they go on, like growing up, it's a tricky process full of pitfalls and dead ends. Change too much and your reach could end up exceeding your grasp; don't change enough and you're stuck in a cul de sac of arrested development, treading water on album after album. Fortunately for the Menzingers, they pull off the process beautifully, creating an album full of emotion that, while definitely feeling different than their past work, still shows signs of the band they were before. With its combination of hopeful energy and plaintive earthiness, On the Impossible Past is a mature and emotionally deep record that will make old fans glad they stuck around, and new fans out of anyone already on board with fellow Americana punks the Gaslight Anthem.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/21/2012
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778717026
catalogNumber: 87170


  1. Good Things
  2. Burn After Writing
  3. The Obituaries
  4. Gates
  5. Ava House
  6. Sun Hotel
  7. Sculptors and Vandals
  8. Mexican Guitars
  9. On the Impossible Past
  10. Nice Things
  11. Casey
  12. I Can't Seem To Tell
  13. Freedom Bridge

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Menzingers   Primary Artist
Greg Barnett   Glockenspiel,Vocals,Group Member
Joe Godino   Drums,Group Member
Eric Keen   Bass,Group Member
Tom May   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Matt Allison   Producer
Tim Borror   Booking
Menzingers   Composer
Tim Zahodski   Management
Craig Horky   Illustrations
Justin Yates   Engineer
Mark Cohen   Cover Photo
Tom Taaffe   Booking
Phil Battiato   Booking
Carl Severson   Management
Daniel Zezeski   Composer
Jessica Giordano   Publicity
Adam Kreeft   Booking

Customer Reviews