by Tonio K.Tonio K.


$17.70 $17.99 Save 2% Current price is $17.7, Original price is $17.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Tonio K's fifth full-length album was originally slated to be released in 1990 on the heels of Notes From the Lost Civilization, thus completing his trio of comeback recordings. Due to the inherent nature of corporate restructuring, however, this project was canned by A&M only to see the light of day seven years later courtesy of Gadfly Records. This album, while being denied a final mix due to financial and political constraints, continues stylistically in the vein of Notes From the Lost Civilization. Tonio K's patented form of intelligent funky roots rock and commentary-laced ballads is complemented greatly by a stellar cast of musicians like Peter Case, T Bone Burnett, Booker T. Jones, Bruce Thomas, David Hidalgo, Paul Westerberg, and Charlie Sexton. Co-produced by Burnett and David Miner Olé contains several intense and substantive songs like "Hey Lady," "Day and Night," (co-written with Burnett) and the caustic "What a Way to Live" which revisits his ornery heyday as a burgeoning voice of unreason.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/1997
Label: Gadfly
UPC: 0076605223328
catalogNumber: 233
Rank: 99366

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tonio K.   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Peter Case   Harmonica,Background Vocals
Charlie Sexton   Guitar
Marc Ribot   Electric Guitar
Paul Westerberg   Guitar
Steven Soles   Background Vocals
Rusty Anderson   Electric Guitar
T Bone Burnett   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,chamberlain
Mickey Curry   Drums
David Hidalgo   Guitar,Vocals
Warner Hodges   Guitar
Booker T. Jones   Hammond Organ
John Keller   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
David Miner   Percussion,Piano,Electric Bass,String Bass
David Raven   Drums
Jack Sherman   Guitar
Bruce Thomas   Bass,Electric Bass
Booker T. Jones   Hammond Organ

Technical Credits

Mark Heard   Engineer
Tonio K.   Liner Notes
T Bone Burnett   Composer,Producer
Ralph Forbes   drum programming
John Keller   Engineer
David Miner   Producer
Rik Pekkonen   Engineer
Jim Scott   Engineer
Stacy Baird   Engineer
John Frankenheimer   Contributor
Joe Borgia   Engineer
Ric Pekkonen   Engineer
Jack Morris Sherman   Composer

Customer Reviews