Ol' Glory

Ol' Glory

by JJ Grey & Mofro



Normally, when musicians grow both in confidence and ambition over time it's considered a good thing. JJ Grey & Mofro's sound grew from a gritty, stripped-down hybrid they called "Lochloosa," a musical meld of swamp pop, funky gospel, Louisiana-tinged R&B, and roots rock. Lyrically, Grey spun myths from the rich, humid soil of his homeland straight into the band's grooves. Things got funkier and rowdier on 2010's Georgia Warhorse and 2013's This River, where they truly gelled. Now signed to Provogue, Grey's grandest musical statement yet lies on Ol' Glory, where it sounds like he's asserting himself as a frontman rather than a singer/songwriter fronting a band. Opener "Everything Is a Song" is a joyous, retro Muscle Shoals R&B-styled number with tight horns, ringing piano, and a gorgeous chorus of backing vocals from Kalen Michele Dennis and Grey. The gentle interplay of acoustic and electric slide guitars on "The Island" (courtesy of guest Luther Dickinson) is understated, poetic, and soulful. "Every Minute" features guest Derek Trucks' great lyrical and serpentine slide work and Dennis' killer backing vocals; it's prime Grey -- all balanced with nothing extra lyrically or musically. The horns actually act as support rather than a sonic wall to break through. The interplay between rock and R&B is natural, bluesy, and gritty. "Light a Candle" is gospelized R&B with rock & roll guitars. It actually testifies when the horns and backing vocals build a bridge to Grey's lead. On "Home in the Sky," Grey sounds like he's calling on the spirit of Gregg Allman's Laid Back for inspiration and it works. The deliberate slow-build drama of "Hold on Tight," as Grey and Dennis respond to his protagonist's swaggering declarations of lust in call and response, meld ragged, rockist blues and drop-line breakbeat funk. The earthy, backporch country of closer "Hurricane (with Dickinson) is another highlight on the set.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/24/2015
Label: Provogue
UPC: 0819873011378
catalogNumber: 301137

Album Credits

Performance Credits

JJ Grey & Mofro   Primary Artist
Anthony Cole   Organ,Percussion,Drums
Art Edmaiston   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Todd Smallie   Bass,Double Bass
Luther Dickinson   Dobro
Marcus Parsley   Trumpet
Jeff Dazey   Saxophone
JJ Grey   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Piano,Electric Guitar,Tambourine,Vocals,Background Vocals,Clavinet
Dennis Marion   Trumpet
Anthony Farrell   Organ,Piano,Clavinet
Andrew Trube   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar
Karlen Dennis   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dan Prothero   Producer,Engineer
Art Edmaiston   Horn Arrangements
Jesse Aratow   Executive Producer
Daryl Hance   Composer
JJ Grey   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Artwork,Horn Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews