Oklahoma! [Selections]

Oklahoma! [Selections]

by Original 1943 Broadway CastOriginal 1943 Broadway Cast

CD(Anniversary Edition)

$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The American musical reached maturity on March 31, 1943, with the premiere of Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein's debut collaboration, Oklahoma! Never before had a show's score, libretto, and choreography been so united in storytelling. The results were sensational. Starring Alfred Drake, Joan Roberts, and Celeste Holm, Oklahoma!was also the first musical immortalized in an original cast album, allowing listeners to relive the magic of "Oh, What a Beautiful Mornin'," "The Surrey with the Fringe on Top," "Kansas City," "People Will Say We're In Love," "Pore Jud Is Daid" (an alternate take is included) and the foot-stompin' title tune. This is a classic recording as well as a timeless work of art.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/25/2018
Label: Verve
UPC: 0602567268550
catalogNumber: 002785702
Rank: 26003

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Original 1943 Broadway Cast   Primary Artist
Alfred Drake   Vocals
Celeste Holm   Vocals
Joan Roberts   Vocals
Jay Blackton   Conductor
Joseph Buloff   Vocals
Kate Friedlich   Vocals
Herbert Rissman   Vocals
Paul Shiers   Vocals
Edwin Clay   Vocals
Hayes Gordon   Vocals
Lee Dixon   Vocals
Bambi Linn   Vocals
Barry Kelley   Vocals
Marc Platt   Vocals
Ralph Riggs   Vocals
Betty Garde   Vocals
Joan McCracken   Vocals
Katharine Sergava   Vocals
Oklahoma! Pit Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
George Irving   Vocals
Jane Lawrence   Vocals
Owen Martin   Vocals
George Church   Vocals
Howard da Silva   Vocals
Agnes De Mille   Tap Dance
Ellen Lovo   Vocals

Technical Credits

Richard Rodgers   Composer
Robert Russell Bennett   Orchestration
Didier C. Deutsch   Reissue Producer
Oscar Hammerstein   Text,Book
Jack Kapp   Producer
Josh Cheuse   Art Direction
Jacob Schwartzdorf   Orchestra Director
Miles White   Costume Design
Marc Platt   Cover Photo
Rouben Mamoulian   Production Director
Katharine Sergava   Cover Photo
Mike Piacentini   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews