...Off The Bone

...Off The Bone

by The CrampsThe Cramps


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This British compilation includes the entirety of the Cramps' first release, the Gravest Hits EP, along with selections from Songs the Lord Taught Us, Psychedelic Jungle, Smell of Female, and a live version of "You Got Good Taste" (shortened here to "Good Taste"). It covers the years 1979-1983, a formative period in the band's long career. Ten of the tracks can also be found on the domestic compilation Bad Music for Bad People, which was released the following year. Although the bulk of the material consists of covers, you can hardly tell (barring an intimacy with any of the originals). Once the Cramps get hold of a song, they always make it their own -- even the more recognizable numbers like "Surfin' Bird," "Lonesome Town," and "Fever." All benefit from Lux Interior's vocal prowess. He's a proto-punk screamer like Screamin' Jay Hawkins or the Sonics' Gerry Roslie on the rockin' numbers, but can caress a ballad like mid-period Elvis when the need arises. None of the songs sound as if they could possibly have been written anytime after the '60s. Alex Chilton produced the first ten tracks, the Cramps the remaining seven. [The cover art for ...Off the Bone has varied over the years; the 1987 Illegal edition is rendered -- appropriately enough -- in 3-D.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/1998
Label: Emi Europe Generic
UPC: 0724349383722
catalogNumber: 4938372
Rank: 27334


  1. Human Fly
  2. The Way I Walk
  3. Domino
  4. Surfin' Bird
  5. Lonesome Town
  6. Garbageman
  7. Fever
  8. Drug Train
  9. Love Me
  10. I Can't Hardly Stand It
  11. Goo Goo Muck
  12. She Said
  13. The Crusher
  14. Save It
  15. New Kind of Kick
  16. Uranium Rock
  17. Good Taste

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cramps   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Hasil Adkins   Composer
Alex Chilton   Producer
Cramps   Producer
Charlie Feathers   Composer
Jack Scott   Composer
Warren Smith   Composer
Lux Interior   Composer
Carl White   Composer
John Davenport   Composer
Frazier   Composer
Sonny Harris   Composer
E. James   Composer
Sam Phillips   Composer
Eddie Cooley   Composer
Bob Nolan   Composer
Steve Wahrer   Composer
Nigel Reeve   Reissue Producer
Ivy Rorschach   Composer
Jody Chastain   Composer
Turner Wilson   Composer
Mel Robbins   Composer
Mary Biggs   Composer
Baker Knight   Composer
Dead Jaw   Artwork,Illustrations
Jerry Huffman   Composer
Ronnie Cook   Composer
Carl Glover   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews