Odd One Out

Odd One Out

by Nic Stone

Hardcover(Signed Edition)

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Overview

From the New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin comes an honest and touching depiction of friendship, first love, and everything in between. Perfect for fans of Love, Simon and What If It's Us.

Courtney Cooper and Jupiter Charity-Sanchez (Coop and Jupe!) have been next-door neighbors and best friends since they were seven years old. She's his partner in crime and other half. But lately, Coop can't ignore the fact that he might want something more than friendship from Jupiter.

When Rae Chin moves to town, she can't believe how lucky she is to find Coop and Jupe. Being the new kid is usually synonymous with "pariah," but around these two, she finally feels like she belongs. She's so grateful she wants to kiss him . . . and her.

Jupiter has always liked girls. But when Coop starts daing Rae, Jupe realizes that the only girl she ever really imagined by his side was her.

One story. Three sides. No easy answers.

"Fans of Nic and new readers will find themselves engrossed." —Teen Vogue

"Declaring yourself—how you would like to be represented and whom you want to love and connect with—is treated with real tenderness." —The New York Times

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780375978548
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 11/23/2018
Edition description: Signed Edition
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 33,829
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Atlanta native Nic Stone is the author of the New York Times bestselling Dear Martin, which Booklist called "vivid and powerful." Odd One Out is Nic's second novel and the book she wishes she'd had back when she was trying to figure out who it's okay to love.

You can find Nic fangirling over her husband and sons on Twitter and Instagram at @getnicced or on her website, nicstone.info.

Read an Excerpt

I, Courtney Aloysius Cooper IV, Should Be a Very Sad Dude
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Odd One Out"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Nic Stone.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Children's Books.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Odd One Out 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
Courtney Aloysius Cooper IV (Coop) is a straight black teen has been is in love with his best friend Jupiter Charity Sanchez since they were young. Jupiter is a bi-racial black girl only has eyes for the new girl Rae Chin. Rae is a bi-racial mixed girl wants to be with both Coop & Jupiter. I really enjoyed reading this story of falling in love with friends and the complications that can occur with friendship.
Anonymous 11 months ago
This was such a great book to read. I loved all of the characters, but I just wish it had ended slightly differently.
Take_Me_AwayPH 11 months ago
I had an ARC of this, but after finding out that Nic Stone was going to narrate..... I HAD to listen to it. I always find it so cool when the author can write a book and then go on and narrate it too. They know the best places to emphasize and more and it makes the audio that much more enjoyable. Coop and Jupiter have been friends for years. Enter Rae who befriends the both of them. But also thinks she likes both of them. Coop is secretly in love with Jupiter, and Jupiter thinks she may be falling for Coop after getting turned down by Rae. If you're confused by this, there's no easy way to explain it. Just read it! I loved the way Stone gave each character their own book and still kept it in chronological order. It made the most sense this way. And giving all the characters their own book helped to get into their head and get some information that we may not have gotten from just one person's POV. I also liked the questioning rep! There is not too many books out there for those questioning, and this one really gave a great example. I could have used this book as a teen while I did my own questioning in high school. I didn't figure it out until I was in college and I never told anyone because I felt so alone. This book could've helped back then. I hope this book will help other teens that might feel like this now. However, I did not like the ending. It didn't feel finished. Like what happened after that. Did they try? It just felt cut off too abruptly. All the questions I had weren't answered and because of that it caused me to like it a little less. Stone's sophomore novel has none of the sophomore slump syndrome. It is messy and will stress you out in the best possible way. It will hurt you, hype you, and make you laugh. And all the time you will be rooting for the MC. All 3 of them. Knowing that all three of them have a different side of the story.
JillJemmett More than 1 year ago
This story was separated into three parts. Each part was narrated by a different character. This made the story very tense, while I was wondering what the other characters were thinking in the different narratives. The ending of each part was so emotional. There were major revelations each time from the different characters, which really built the tension until the next part. I loved Courtney and Jupiter. I was rooting from them right from the beginning, even though she was gay. They were so perfect with each other, so I wanted them to be together. However, things got complicated when Rae arrived. Jupiter liked Rae and Courtney liked Jupiter, while Rae liked both of them. It was a complicated set of relationships. I know many people don’t like reading about love triangles, but I don’t mind them. I’ve witnessed them in real life many times, so I can understand why they’re so prevalent in books. This love triangle was complex because of the different gender identities that were involved. I just loved this story! It’s an amazing, modern coming of age story. I received a copy of this book from Penguin Random House Canada in exchange for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read loved every word of it beginning till the end ..