by Stephin MerrittStephin Merritt


$15.55 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


B-sides and rarities collections can often help give fans insight into their favorite artists' creative processes, or at the very least, provide either a light snack between releases or a post-retirement victory lap, but when an artist as prolific as Stephin Merritt decides to clean house, it can be a little daunting. Over the years, Merritt's seemingly endless supply of wry, melodic, basement electro-folk songs has required him to use multiple pseudonyms (Magnetic Fields, the 6ths, the Gothic Archies), nearly all which of make an appearance on Obscurities. At its best, the collection stirs some up left-field gems like "Forever and a Day" and "When You're Young and in Love," both of which were pulled from an unfinished musical called The Song from Venus, and the breezy Wasps' Nest outtake "Yet Another Girl."

Product Details

Release Date: 08/23/2011
Label: Merge Records
UPC: 0673855043029
catalogNumber: 430
Rank: 124409


  1. Forever and a Day
  2. Rats In the Garbage of the Western World
  3. I Don't Believe You
  4. Plant White Roses
  5. Rot In the Sun
  6. The Sun and the Sea and the Sky
  7. Yet Another Girl
  8. Scream ('Till You Make the Scene)
  9. The Song From Venus
  10. Beach-A-Boop-Boop
  11. When I'm Not Looking, You're Not There
  12. Take Ecstasy With Me
  13. When You're Young and In Love
  14. You Are Not My Mother and I Want To Go Home

Album Credits

Customer Reviews