O Universo Musical de Baden Powell

O Universo Musical de Baden Powell

by Baden PowellBaden Powell


$17.26 $19.99 Save 14% Current price is $17.26, Original price is $19.99. You Save 14%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 9


What sublime stuff this is. The renowned Brazilian guitarist and composer, instrumental in development of the bossa nova, produced a surfeit of recordings, many in France, where he made his home. Consolidating the best of his years with the Barclay and Festival labels, O Universo does a great service to connoisseurs and casual fans alike. Powell conquered Europe through his Barclay recording Le Monde Musical de Baden Powell in 1964, which contained his version of Jobim's "Garota de Ipanema" as well as classics he composed with the poet Vinicius de Moraes: "Berimbau" and "Deve Ser Amor," But there's more: Powell, a voracious musical talent, presents some of the classical stylings that distinguish his cosmopolitan work with a live performance of Bach's "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring." His first big hit, "Samba Triste" (written with vocalist Billy Blanco), also appears in a concert version. The second disc, dating from the '70s, includes some more collaborations with de Moraes ("Samba da Bençáo," "Canto de Ossanha") and further delights for jazz fans, such as a version of Monk's "Round About Midnight" and a duet with violinist Stephane Grapelli on the Gilberto Gil composition "Eu Vim da Bahia," which was recorded in one frenetic three-hour session in Paris. Throughout, whether solo or in duos and quartets, the intimacy of Powell's guitar is astounding, his musical vocabulary boundless -- an inimitable raconteur whose quiet voice has fascinating things to say.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2003
Label: Sunnyside
UPC: 0016728301626
catalogNumber: 3016
Rank: 43397

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Baden Powell   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Stéphane Grappelli   Violin
Daniel Humair   Drums
Andre Arpino   Drums
Alfredo Bessa   Percussion,Vocals
Pierre-Alain Dahan   Drums
Michel Gaudry   Bass
Ivan Jullien   Trumpet,Conductor
Sam Kelly   Percussion
Arthur Motta   Drums
Guy Pedersen   Bass
Luis Agudo   Percussion
Janine de Waleyne   Vocals
Jorge G. Rezende   Percussion
Hélio Schiavo   Drums
Luigi Trussardi   Bass
Jorge Arena   Percussion
Billy Nencioli   Vocals
Jean Arpino   Drums
Nelson Serra DeCastro   Drums

Technical Credits

Luiz Bonfá   Composer
Dorival Caymmi   Composer
Joni Mitchell   Composer
Vinícius de Moraes   Composer
Gilberto Gil   Composer
Cootie Williams   Composer
Moacir Santos   Composer
Luiz Gonzaga   Composer
Johann Sebastian Bach   Composer
Baden Powell   Composer
Antonio Carlos Jobim   Composer
Thelonious Monk   Composer
Paulo César Pinheiro   Composer
Pixinguinha (Alfredo Vianna)   Composer
Bernie Hanighen   Composer
Jacques Lubin   Engineer
Ary Barroso   Composer
Dominique Dreyfus   Liner Notes,Artistic Director
Clovis Mello   Composer
Humberto Teixeira   Composer
Ataulfo Alves   Composer
Billy Blanco   Composer
Mário Lago   Composer
Lula Freire   Composer
Billy Nencioli   Composer

Customer Reviews