Nuns with Guns

Nuns with Guns

by Seth Kaufman

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

"A smart, witty and engrossing satire! Kaufman is a wonderfully sharp-eyed observer of modern American lunacies." --Zoë Heller, Notes on a Scandal

"Literary gold! The year's best new reality show concept is actually a book... It's as hilarious as it sounds!" --RadarOnLine.com

"...Rick is a charismatic antihero bolstered by credible side characters, and in the midst of Kaufman's sardonic humor, there rings out an earnest outcry for gun reform."--Publishers Weekly

"10 out of 10... Kaufman has done the impossible: he's turned a foul-mouthed, PR-savvy, manipulative, selfish, and occasionally self-righteous reality show producer into a heroic figure. Highly, highly recommended." -- Chicago Center for Literature and Photography

Out-of-control producer Rick Salter wants to leave reality TV, get married and make movies. But it's not easy. When a senseless murder touches his life, Rick enlists his pal Sister Rosemarie to make Nuns with Guns, a TV series about four sisters competing to collect the most firearms. Protests and death threats pile up as the nuns travel the country running gun exchanges. Propelled by the show's spirited stars and crazy stunts -- and the shadow of death that looms over every episode -- the series becomes a smash hit. As Rick pushes the envelope, trying to save America from itself, a question emerges: Who will save Rick?

Sure to appeal to fans of Carl Hiaasen and Kurt Vonnegut. Seth Kaufman's brutally funny book explores deadly national issues by deftly balancing satire with anxiety and insight. The result is a hilarious and harrowing must-read!

"A hilarious, moving sequel...one of the most relevant, timely novels you'll read this year." --Downtown Magazine

"Kaufman's humor and scope in Nuns with Guns is more vibrant than the pure satire of The King of Pain. He's not making fun of America here so much as trying to improve it." --Tom Rayfiel, In Pinelight

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157966119
Publisher: Seth Kaufman
Publication date: 04/08/2016
Series: A Rick Salter novel , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 199,320
File size: 1 MB

About the Author

Seth Kaufman is a writer and humorist who lives in Brooklyn, NY. He has worked as a gossip reporter, TV journalist, musician and ice cream maker. His is the author of The King of Pain ("One of 2012's most enjoyable novels"-NY Times) and The War Against Boredom ("Sharp satire with a poetic heart"-BN Review). He has written for The New Yorker web site, New York Times, The National Enquirer and many other publications.

Customer Reviews