Now, Then & Forever

Now, Then & Forever


Down to a core trio of Philip Bailey, Verdine White, and Ralph Johnson, EWF made their first album since 2005's Illumination with a little help from Larry Dunn and guidance from Maurice White. The Whites, Bailey, and Dunn, along with Al McKay, were inducted into the Songwriting Hall of Fame in 2010, yet Bailey co-wrote only two songs here, while Dunn contributed to one. In addition to Johnson's two co-compositions, a long list of writers was involved, with Bailey's son Philip Doron Bailey given the heaviest load beside the likes of Siedah Garrett and Lee "Son of Leroy" Hutson, Jr. A couple elements of certain songs excepted -- the rigid beat of "Dance Floor," the hard rhythmic drive of "Night of My Life" -- the Earth, Wind & Fire of Open Our Eyes through Faces seems to have been in the mind of each of the involved. The songs are generally enjoyable and recall that era of the band, filled with an easygoing and positive spirit with soaring vocal arrangements, Verdine's thumping bass, and those beaming horns. "My Promise" and "Guiding Light" especially rise high enough to be slotted between classics without losing listener interest. Now, Then & Forever demonstrates the lasting value of the band's classic sound. Its two-disc deluxe edition adds a seven-track selection of favorites picked by the likes of Raphael Saadiq, Lenny Kravitz, and Pharrell. Only Clive Davis ("Power") digs deep.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/10/2013
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0886979924024
catalogNumber: 799240

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Earth, Wind & Fire   Primary Artist
Philip Bailey   Vocals,Background Vocals
Siedah Garrett   Background Vocals
Duane Benjamin   Trombone
Gary Bias   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Terence Blanchard   Trumpet
Sal Cracchiolo   Trumpet
Larry Dunn   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Moog Synthesizer,Hand Clapping,fender rhodes,Soloist,Mini Moog,Piano (Grand),Hammond B3
Chuck Findley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Gary Grant   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Munyungo Jackson   Percussion
Eric Jorgensen   Trombone
Wendell Kelly   Trombone
David Leach   Percussion
John Paris   Drums,Hand Clapping
Verdine White   Bass,Hand Clapping
Morris O'Connor   Guitar
Michael "Patches" Stewart   Trumpet
Mark Visher   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Myron McKinley   Synthesizer,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Fred Jackson   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Satnam Ramgotra   Tabla
Reginald Young   Trombone
Kenny Moran   Synthesizer
Errol Cooney   Guitar
Daniel McClain   Vocals,Background Vocals
Nicholas Lane   Trombone
Jevon McGlory   Background Vocals
Ric'key Pageot   Synthesizer,Keyboards
B. David Whitworth   Background Vocals
Gregory Moore   Guitar
Benjamin Wright   Conductor
Reggie Young   Bass Trombone,Tenor Trombone
Neal H. Pogue   Percussion,Hand Clapping
John Pappenbrook   Trumpet
Christopher Gray   Trumpet
Austin Jacobs   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Darrin Simpson   Synthesizer,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Hand Clapping,Hammond B3
Wait B   Hand Clapping
Reggie Dozier   Horn Engineer
Matthew Fronke   Trumpet
Juan F. "Jef" Villaluna   Guitar
James Ford   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Philip Bailey   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Siedah Garrett   Composer
Raymond Crossley   Composer
Larry Dunn   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Ralph Johnson   Composer
Paul Klingberg   Engineer
David Rideau   Engineer
Verdine White   Executive Producer
Allee Willis   Composer
Morris O'Connor   Composer
Sharlotte Gibson   Composer
Vernon Mungo   Vocal Engineer
Myron McKinley   Composer,Producer
Kenny Moran   Engineer,Percussion Engineer
Eric Rousseau   Composer
Daniel McClain   Composer
J.R. Hutson   Producer
Jevon McGlory   Composer
Justin Merrill   Engineer
Lee Hutson   Composer
Ric'key Pageot   Composer
Benjamin Wright   Horn Arrangements
Allen Bundy   Composer
Neal H. Pogue   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Jairus Mozee   Composer
Austin Jacobs   Composer,Programming
Darrin Simpson   Composer,Programming,Horn Arrangements
Frederick A. Johnson   Composer
Billy Ingram   Insert Photography
Don Pace   Cover Art
Wait B   Producer
Tishaun Dawson   Cover Art
Sondria Bailey   Composer
Meg Todd   Composer
Justin Panariello   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews