North America 2 Volume Set

North America 2 Volume Set

by Anthony Trollope

Other Format

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Anthony Trollope (1815-82) was a prolific English Victorian writer, famous for work such as the 'Chronicles of Barsetshire', and his satirical masterpiece The Way We Live Now. He wrote forty-seven novels as well as several travel books and numerous short stories. After a poor and unhappy childhood, he spent much of his life working for the General Post Office, travelling extensively to carry out postal surveys and writing in his spare time. He became a senior civil servant in the organisation and was responsible for the introduction of pillar boxes to Britain. Published in 1862, this two-volume work is Trollope's first-hand account of North American culture during the American Civil War. Volume 1 focuses on Canada and the northern states, and Volume 2 on Washington and the South. Trollope also describes several key American institutions, including the government and the legal system, and considers the causes of the war.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781108041270
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 12/15/2011
Series: Cambridge Library Collection - North American History
Pages: 980
Product dimensions: 5.43(w) x 8.50(h) x 2.20(d)

About the Author

Anthony Trollope (1815-1882) was one of the most successful, prolific, and respected English novelists of the Victorian era. Some of his best-known books collectively comprise the Chronicles of Barsetshire series, which revolves around the imaginary county of Barsetshire and includes the books The Warden, Barchester Towers, Doctor Thorne, and others. Trollope wrote nearly 50 novels in all, in addition to short stories, essays, and plays.

Table of Contents

Volume 1. 1. Introduction; 2. Newport-Rhode Island; 3. Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont; 4. Lower Canada; 5. Upper Canada; 6. The connexion of the Canadas with Great Britain; 7. Niagara; 8. North and West; 9. From Niagara to the Mississippi; 10. The Upper Mississippi; 11. Ceres Americana; 12. Buffalo to New York; 13. An apology for the war; 14. New York; 15. The constitution of the State of New York; 16. Boston; 17. Cambridge and Lowell; 18. The rights of women; 19. Education and religion; 20. From Boston to Washington. Volume 2. 1. Washington; 2. The House of Representatives; 3. The causes of the war; 4. Washington to St. Louis; 5. Missouri; 6. Cairo and Camp Wood; 7. The army of the North; 8. Back to Boston; 9. The Constitution of the United States; 10. The government; 11. The law courts and lawyers of the United States; 12. The financial position; 13. The Post-Office; 14. American hotels; 15. Literature; 16. Conclusion; Appendix.

Customer Reviews