Nize Baby

Nize Baby

by Buck EvansBuck Evans


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This album recalls great old ragtime jazz at its finest and Dixieland jazz at the same time. While lead singer and pianist Buck Evans has a spoken-word delivery that adds little to the record, the musicianship of trombonist Mike Hobe and clarinet master Paul Woltz more than compensate for the shortcoming. "That's My Girl" and "Hard Boiled Baby" leave one wanting to do the Charleston or the jitterbug, but some of the slower tunes fall off the mark. A strongpoint with the songs is how they aren't edited for length, often easily surpassing four to five minutes. "Albania" returns to an up-tempo feel but "My Imaginary Friends" tends to snip the energy much too rapidly. Musically monotonous in spaces, the tender blue ballads of "Blue Shadows" work best, each performer given a platform to show their obvious talents. "Boot That Rhythm Section" maintains the album's integrity, with an old-time feeling and a brief foray into scat.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2003
Label: Cd Baby
UPC: 0659057204628
catalogNumber: 5637237062
Rank: 162925


  1. That's My Girl
  2. Hard Boiled Baby
  3. Floozy
  4. Shakin' the Lead
  5. Strangers Again
  6. Albania
  7. My Imaginary Friends
  8. Darla
  9. Nize Baby
  10. Blue Shadows
  11. What a Funny Melody
  12. Haunted Mansion
  13. Boot That Rhythm Strain
  14. Little Old Montmartre
  15. Someone's Waiting

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Buck Evans   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews