Nick Jonas [Deluxe Edition]

Nick Jonas [Deluxe Edition]

by Nick JonasNick Jonas

CD(Special Edition)

$19.30 $19.99 Save 3% Current price is $19.3, Original price is $19.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Nick Jonas is either the second or third solo album from Nick Jonas -- it all depends on whether the pre-Jonas Brothers 2004 set Nicholas Jonas or Who I Am, his 2010 album with the short-lived Administration, count -- but there's no denying that this 2014 eponymous effort is designed as a statement of purpose, a way to break away from his now defunct gang of siblings. Throughout this gleaming collection of stylish pop-soul, Jonas takes pains to seem modern -- he finds space for Angel Haze on the lead single "Numb"; he keeps returning to cool, glassy electronic rhythms, sometimes informed by hip-hop; somewhere he swears enough to earn this album a Parental Advisory sticker, although it's a hard profanity to spot -- but his strengths are in his classicism, both as a songwriter and a blue-eyed soul vocalist. Jonas' voice is slightly thin but he knows how to deploy it with sweetness and seduction (although swagger always seems to elude his grasp), a quality that keeps things lively even when things threaten to slide toward the sleepy (as they sometimes do when the tempos slow, which is why Demi Lovato's presence is welcome on "Avalanche"). For all the guests and modern accouterments, Nick Jonas is at its best when Jonas plays it straight, when he relies on his eternal Prince and Stevie Wonder fixations, which give him not only a fairly rich palette to draw from but provide him with a good direction to channel his melodic skills. [The album was also released with three bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2014
Label: Island
UPC: 0602547035653
catalogNumber: 002207802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Jonas   Primary Artist,Vocals
Pierre-Luc Rioux   Guitar
Nick Seeley   Horn
Ammar Malik   Background Vocals
Nolan Lambroza   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards

Technical Credits

David Massey   Executive Producer
Robopop   Producer
Nick Monson   Producer,Engineer
Todd Russell   Art Direction
Ian Kirkpatrick   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jason Evigan   Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Michel Heyaca   Producer
Nick Jonas   Producer,Vocal Producer
Meredith Truax   Photo Production
John Ryan   Producer
Chase Foster   Producer
Jesse String   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Nick Ruth   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Nolan Lambroza   Programming,Engineer
Nolan   Producer
Paul Lane   Package Production
T.J. Routon   Composer
Sebastian Teigen   Producer

Customer Reviews