Nick Jonas

Nick Jonas

by Nick JonasNick Jonas


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Nick Jonas is either the second or third solo album from Nick Jonas -- it all depends on whether the pre-Jonas Brothers 2004 set Nicholas Jonas or Who I Am, his 2010 album with the short-lived Administration, count -- but there's no denying that this 2014 eponymous effort is designed as a statement of purpose, a way to break away from his now defunct gang of siblings. Throughout this gleaming collection of stylish pop-soul, Jonas takes pains to seem modern -- he finds space for Angel Haze on the lead single "Numb"; he keeps returning to cool, glassy electronic rhythms, sometimes informed by hip-hop; somewhere he swears enough to earn this album a Parental Advisory sticker, although it's a hard profanity to spot -- but his strengths are in his classicism, both as a songwriter and a blue-eyed soul vocalist. Jonas' voice is slightly thin but he knows how to deploy it with sweetness and seduction (although swagger always seems to elude his grasp), a quality that keeps things lively even when things threaten to slide toward the sleepy (as they sometimes do when the tempos slow, which is why Demi Lovato's presence is welcome on "Avalanche"). For all the guests and modern accouterments, Nick Jonas is at its best when Jonas plays it straight, when he relies on his eternal Prince and Stevie Wonder fixations, which give him not only a fairly rich palette to draw from but provide him with a good direction to channel his melodic skills.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2014
Label: Island
UPC: 0602547035646
catalogNumber: 002207702


  1. Chains
  2. Jealous
  3. Teacher
  4. Warning
  5. Wilderness
  6. Numb
  7. Take Over
  8. Push
  9. I Want You
  10. Avalanche
  11. Nothing Would Be Better

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Jonas   Primary Artist,Vocals
Pierre-Luc Rioux   Guitar
Nick Seeley   Horn
Ammar Malik   Background Vocals
Nolan Lambroza   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Mike Posner   Composer
Christopher Young   Composer
David Massey   Executive Producer
Simon Wilcox   Composer
Danny Parker   Composer
Robopop   Producer
Nick Monson   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Taio Cruz   Composer
Todd Russell   Art Direction
Erik Hassle   Composer
Ian Kirkpatrick   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Jason Evigan   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Michel Heyaca   Composer,Producer
Nick Jonas   Composer,Vocal Producer
Meredith Truax   Photo Production
Bjørn Erik Pedersen   Composer
John Ryan   Producer
Chase Foster   Composer,Producer
Ammar Malik   Composer
Jesse String   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Daniella Mason   Composer
Nick Ruth   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Nolan Lambroza   Composer,Programming,Engineer
Nolan   Producer
Raykeea Wilson   Composer
Daniel Thomas Omelio   Composer
Paul Lane   Package Production
Paul "Phamous" Guy Shelton   Composer
Sam Martin   Composer
Joseph Kirkland   Composer
T.J. Routon   Composer
Sebastian Teigen   Composer,Producer
Joseph Gil   Composer
Sean Douglas   Composer

Customer Reviews