New Orleans Brass Bands: Down Yonder

New Orleans Brass Bands: Down Yonder


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This Rounder LP features four different brass bands. Dejan's Olympia Brass, the most traditional one, is not always in tune but shows plenty of spirit on its three numbers. The Chosen Few Brass Band is fine on "Mardi Gras Iko" and the young Rebirth Jazz Band (with trumpeter Kermit Ruffins) romps through "When the Saints Go Marching In" and "My Song." But it is the R&B-ish Dirty Dozen Brass Band (performing "Mardi Gras in New Orleans" and "The Flintstones") that has the strongest and most original personality. Overall, New Orleans Brass Bands: Down Yonder gives one a strong dose of New Orleans party music.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/14/1992
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661156227
catalogNumber: 11562
Rank: 174883

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Harold Dejan   Leader,Alto Saxophone
Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Track Performer
Milton Batiste   Trumpet
John Gilbert   Tenor Saxophone
Dejan's Olympia Brass   Track Performer
Wendell Eugene   Trombone
Kermit Ruffins   Trumpet
Keith Anderson   Trombone
Lionel Batiste   Bass Drums
Wayne Bennett   Guitar
Leroy Breaux   Snare Drums
Anthony Butler   Alto Saxophone
Gregory Davis   Trumpet
Keith "Bass Drum Shorty" Frazier   Cymbals,Bass Drums
Philip Frazier   Tuba
Andrew Green   Snare Drums
George "Happy" Johnson   Trumpet
Charles Joseph   Trombone
Kirk Joseph   Sousaphone
Fred Kemp   Tenor Saxophone
Anthony "Tuba Fats" Lacen   Tuba
Roger Lewis   Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Jenell Marshall   Vocals,Snare Drums
Reginald Steward   Trombone
Efrem Towns   Trumpet
Ernest Watson   Tenor Saxophone
Derek "Dirt" Wiley   Trumpet
Donald Lewis   Cymbals,Bass Drums
Frank Naundorf   Trombone
Edgar Smith   Tuba
Elliot Callier   Tenor Saxophone
Nowell Glass   Bass Drums
Kevin Harris   Tenor Saxophone
Lewis J. Blaze   Tambourine
Edmond Foucher   Trumpet
Ricky Monet   Piano
Cyrille Salvant   Trumpet
Darryl Adams   Alto Saxophone
Edward Paris   Trombone
Benny Jones   Bass Drums

Technical Credits

Dirty Dozen Brass Band   Producer
George Wein   Executive Producer
Milton Batiste   Arranger,Producer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Quint Davis   Producer
Professor Longhair   Composer
Harry Von Tilzer   Composer
David Richards   Engineer
M. Christian   Composer
Jack Berry   Engineer
William Hanna   Composer
Joseph Barbera   Composer
Hoyt Curtin   Composer
L. Wolfe Gilbert   Composer
Jeff Berry   Engineer
David Mattis   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Robert Burns   Composer

Customer Reviews