New Lore

New Lore

by Sean RoweSean Rowe


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Earthy alt-folk bard Sean Rowe returns with New Lore, his fourth outing for the Anti- label. With his gently fingerpicked guitar and resounding baritone voice, Rowe's records have typically felt like introspective soul journeys whose emotional scales tip subtly with varying degrees of darkness and light. His previous record, 2014's eclectic Madman, showed a somewhat sunnier side of the upstate New Yorker's personality and introduced some colorful new tones to his sound. Recorded in Memphis at Sam Phillips' legendary studio, New Lore continues some of that sonic exploration while offering what may be some of Rowe's most heartfelt songwriting to date. The change of scenery to one of America's musical heartlands has a pronounced effect, particularly on tracks like "Promise of You," a redemptive gospel-inspired piano ballad, and the more R&B-oriented "Newton's Cradle," with its staccato string enhancements and funky electric piano. Elsewhere Rowe tries his hand at classic outlaw country on "It's Not Hard to Say Goodbye Sometimes," which comes off like a hybrid of Waylon Jennings and Leonard Cohen, yet suits his own distinctive voice better than almost anything on the album. Even as he tries on his variety of styles, the common thread stitching New Lore together is one of poignant sentimentality, which is probably best evidenced on "I'll Follow Your Trail,' an unabashedly tender tale of parenthood. Another warm ballad along those lines is "I Can't Make a Living from Holding You," painting the family man as the reluctant and weary traveler. Between his sincerity and the warmly captured performances, Rowe has added another fine record to his growing canon.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/07/2017
Label: Anti
UPC: 0045778752522
catalogNumber: 87525
Rank: 12361

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sean Rowe   Primary Artist,Harmonica,Percussion,Accordion,Vocals,Hand Clapping
Ken Coomer   Percussion,Drums
Susan Marshall   Background Vocals
Jerry Phillips   Hand Clapping
Jeff Powell   Hand Clapping
Dave Smith   Bass
Rick Steff   Organ,Piano,Mellotron,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
David Cousar   Electric Guitar
Richard Ford   Pedal Steel Guitar
Heather Trussell   Violin
Reba Russell   Background Vocals
Neal Shaffer   Viola
Matt Ross-Spang   Percussion,Mellotron,Hand Clapping
Gaylon Patterson   Violin
Elen Wroten   Cello

Technical Credits

Jeff Powell   Cut
Sam Shoup   String Arrangements
Tom D. Kline   Layout
Sean Rowe   Composer,Producer
Matt Ross-Spang   Producer,Engineer
Jeffry Lee   Illustrations

Customer Reviews