Neil Young

Neil Young

by Neil YoungNeil Young


$7.99 $12.99 Save 38% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $12.99. You Save 38%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On his songs for Buffalo Springfield, Neil Young had demonstrated an eclecticism that ranged from the rock of "Mr. Soul" to the complicated, multi-part arrangement of "Broken Arrow." On his debut solo album, he continued to work with composer/arranger Jack Nitzsche, with whom he had made "Expecting to Fly" on the Buffalo Springfield Again album, and together the two recorded a restrained effort on which the folk-rock instrumentation, most of which was by Young, overdubbing himself, was augmented by discreet string parts. The country & western elements that had tinged the Springfield's sound were also present, notably on the leadoff track, "The Emperor of Wyoming," an instrumental that recalled the Springfield song "A Child's Claim to Fame." Still unsure of his voice, Young sang in a becalmed high tenor that could be haunting as often as it was listless and whining. He was at his least appealing on the nine-and-a-half-minute closing track, "The Last Trip to Tulsa," on which he accompanied himself with acoustic guitar, singing an impressionistic set of lyrics seemingly derived from Bob Dylan's Highway 61 Revisited. But double-tracking and the addition of a female backup chorus improved the singing elsewhere, and on "The Loner," the album's most memorable track, Young displayed some of the noisy electric guitar work that would characterize his recordings with Crazy Horse and reminded listeners of his ability to turn a phrase. Still, Neil Young made for an uneven, low-key introduction to Young's solo career, and when released it was a commercial flop, his only album not to make the charts. (Several months after the album's release, Young remixed it to bring out his vocals more and added some overdubs. This second version replaced the first in the U.S. from then on, though the original mix remained available overseas.)

Product Details

Release Date: 07/14/2009
Label: Reprise / Wea
UPC: 0093624979050
catalogNumber: 517934
Rank: 10007

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Neil Young   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Harpsichord,Vocals,Pipe organ
Jim Messina   Bass
Gloria Jones   Vocals,Background Vocals
Jack Nitzsche   Guitar,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Merry Clayton   Background Vocals
George Grantham   Drums
Patrice Holloway   Vocals,Background Vocals
Brenda Holloway   Background Vocals
Gracia Nitzsche   Vocals,Background Vocals
Earl Palmer   Drums
Sherlie Matthews   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Neil Young   Arranger,Producer
David Briggs   Producer
Jack Nitzsche   Arranger,Producer
Dale Batchelor   Engineer
Donn Landee   Engineer
Rik Pekkonen   Engineer
Mark Richardson   Engineer
Elliot Roberts   Direction
Henry Saskowski   Engineer
Dale Baychelor   Contributor
Ed Thrasher   Art Direction
Dave "Blind Boy" Briggs   Producer

Customer Reviews