Nappy: Music Man - Soul-Pop-Disco-Funk-Crossover from Trinidad, 1975-1981 [2 LP + 7

Nappy: Music Man - Soul-Pop-Disco-Funk-Crossover from Trinidad, 1975-1981 [2 LP + 7"]

by Richard MayersRichard Mayers

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - German Import)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Soca developed in Trinidad and Tobago, and while it's a music that has been documented, there are many areas in its history that are relatively murky. Bear Family's 2015 compilation Nappy: Music Man shines a spotlight on Richard "Nappy" Mayers, a singer, guitarist, producer, and arranger who began his career with a band called Embryo and had some solo singles in addition to working with other artists. Bear Family's disc -- which is exceptionally well-annotated by Dave Elcock -- contains 19 of these sides, all recorded between 1975 and 1981, drawing heavily from Embryo's discography and containing a fair share of singles from Nadie La Fond, in addition to singles by Ceasar, Sound Revolution, and Nappy himself. There's a wide variety of artists and the sounds are diverse, too, more than a soca novice might expect: it's Caribbean but it often plays like exceptionally lithe disco or smooth gossamer soul, dipping into perhaps expected funk and reggae, but there's also a bit of country-rock/soft rock on the closing "Let Me in Your Life." This wide range of sounds underscores how Nappy was indeed a music man but it also winds up sounding like an album of the greatest soulful ideas of the late '70s. [Nappy: Music Man was also released in a two-LP vinyl edition that featured the tracks "Hot for Your Love" by Nadie La Fond and "Love Is New" by Embryo on a separate 7" vinyl 45-rpm single.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2015
Label: Bear Family
UPC: 5397102120916
catalogNumber: 5034001
Rank: 216922


Disc 1

  1. Wajang Woman
  2. Soca (It's Soul Calypso)
  3. Light the Light
  4. 3 Way Situation
  5. Nothing Is Impossible
  6. You're Too Easy
  7. Wanna Make Love to You
  8. Ebony Girl
  9. Poor Man Son
  10. Music Man

Disc 2

  1. Wanna Believe in Love
  2. I Like to Make Love
  3. Easy Breezy
  4. Let Yourself Go
  5. Makin' Bacchanal
  6. Go Down Dancin'

Disc 3

  1. Hot for Your Love
  2. Love Is New

Album Credits

Customer Reviews