Napoleon Dynamite [Soundtrack]

Napoleon Dynamite [Soundtrack]


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 26


Napoleon Dynamite's soundtrack works on the same mix of awkward and sweet that typifies the film. It's sprinkled liberally with soundbites of Napoleon himself (Jon Heder) and those in his life, such as quotable comebacks like "Yeah right, who's the only one who knows the illegal ninja moves from the government?," or Kip's (Aaron Ruell) declaration of his plans to become a cagefighter. Napoleon Dynamite also takes a page from the Rushmore soundtrack by sequencing composer John Swihart's suitably quirky score amidst the handful of indie pop and 1980s faves that anchor the set. Rogue Wave fans will note a live version of the Out of the Shadow standout "Every Moment," and Figurine's "New Mate" is a gem from the trio's 1999 revivalist synth pop album Transportation + Communication = Love. Though the music here is united by a certain offbeat quality, relationships -- family, friends, love, self -- are the real focus. It gives listeners the range, from the swagger of Bow Wow Wow's "I Want Candy" to the crackling soul-jazz and bootstraps message of Money Mark's "Sometimes You Gotta Make It Alone." There's also a touchingly heartfelt cover of Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time," and less often heard '80s standouts from Yaz ("Only You") and Alphaville ("Forever Young"). With its movie quotes, endearing score (including Swihart's version of "The A-Team Theme"), and well-chosen musical cues, Napoleon Dynamite is a comprehensive keepsake of a film likely destined for cult favorite status.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/05/2004
Label: Lakeshore Records
UPC: 0780163381023
catalogNumber: 33810
Rank: 152866


  1. What Ever I Feel Like
  2. I Want Candy
  3. Bus Rider
  4. Locker Room 1
  5. Every Moment
  6. Pull in Town
  7. Nap Pulls Kip Return
  8. Nap Pulls Kip
  9. You Do Speak English?
  10. New Mate
  11. Granny ATV
  12. Cagefighter
  13. The A-Team Theme
  14. Here's Rico
  15. Summer's Cake
  16. Vote for Me
  17. Design
  18. Locker Room 2
  19. Sometimes You Gotta Make It Alone
  20. Worst Video
  21. Thrifty
  22. Suit
  23. Suitwalk
  24. Talons
  25. Kip Waits
  26. Chapstick
  27. Solamente Una Vez
  28. Loch Ness
  29. Nap Store Video
  30. Ask It by Pedro
  31. Canned Heat
  32. D-Qwan Boogie
  33. Nap Dance Bedroom
  34. Whole Milk
  35. Only You
  36. Nap Rico Van
  37. Nap Hangs Up the Phone
  38. Forever Young
  39. Time After Time
  40. Ninja Moves
  41. Alternate Ending Montage
  42. The Promise

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Cyndi Lauper   Composer
Mike Post   Composer
Agustín Lara   Composer
Solá Akingbolá   Composer
Bert Berns   Composer
Wallis Buchanan   Composer
Vince Clarke   Composer
Bob Feldman   Composer
Marian Gold   Composer
Richard Gottehrer   Composer
Rob Hyman   Composer
Jason Kay   Composer
Bernhard Lloyd   Composer
Frank Mertens   Composer
Toby Smith   Composer
Clive Farrington   Composer
Derrick McKenzie   Composer
Skip Williamson   Executive Producer
Figurine   Composer
Mark "Money Mark" Ramos-Nishita   Composer
Gerald Goldstein   Composer
Jimmy Bennett   Engineer
Clarence E. "Pete" Carpenter   Composer
Zach Rogue   Composer
Becca Leitman   Art Direction
Brian McNelis   Executive Producer
John Swihart   Composer
Simon Katz   Composer

Customer Reviews