by Evelyn Underhill


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


First published in 1911, “Mysticism” is the seminal work on the subject by noted English Christian mystic and author Evelyn Underhill. The book is divided into two parts which examine both the history and meaning of mysticism and how it can be a part of one’s daily life and spiritual practice. In the first part, “The Mystic Fact”, Underhill explores the theological, psychological, and philosophical underpinnings of mysticism from a historical perspective. Underhill rejected the association often made between mysticism and magic or the occult and sought to clear up the many misunderstandings and confusions surrounding the topic. She contended that mysticism should be viewed as a legitimate psychological phenomenon and an important part of spirituality and spiritual leadership. In the second part, “The Mystic Way”, Underhill examines the application of mysticism in one’s life as a means for spiritual growth. She argues that incorporating mystical practices can help one achieve a more loving and creative life. Underhill’s “Mysticism” remains a widely read and hugely influential work on the historical importance of this little understood practice. It is both a fantastic introduction to the search for spirituality through mysticism and an almost encyclopedic examination of the subject. This edition is printed on premium acid-free paper.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781420969528
Publisher: Neeland Media
Publication date: 05/30/2020
Pages: 460
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.02(d)

Table of Contents

Preface to the Twelfth Edition

Preface to the First Edition

Part One: The Mystic Fact

I. The Point of Departure

II. Mysticism and Vitalism

III. Mysticism and Psychology

IV. The Characteristics of Mysticism

V. Mysticism and Theology

VI. Mysticism and Symbolism

VII. Mysticism and Magic

Part Two: The Mystic Way

I. Introductory

II. The Awakening of the Self

III. The Purification of the Self

IV. The Illumination of the Self

V. Voices and Visions

VI. Introversion. Part I: Recollection

VII. Introversion. Part II: Contemplation

VIII. Ecstasy and Rapture

IX. The Dark Night of the Soul

X. The Unitive Life


Appendix: Historical Sketch of Mysticism


Customer Reviews