Mystery Girl [Expanded Edition]

Mystery Girl [Expanded Edition]

by Roy Orbison


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


Although it had been years since his last recording, Roy Orbison was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1987. Perhaps as a result of the newfound interest in his music, he was invited to record with the supergroup the Traveling Wilburys. Orbison had a renewed sense of purpose, and also began recording material for a new solo album. Collaborating with Jeff Lynne and Tom Petty, Orbison re-creates the feel of his old recordings while sounding modern. His voice sounds as strong as ever, and he is still able to hit the high notes that convey a sad, lonely ache. The highlight of the album is "She's a Mystery to Me," a haunting ballad penned by U2's Bono and the Edge that perfectly plays to all of Orbison's strengths as a singer. Released in the months after his death, Mystery Girl was the highest-charting album of his career and spawned the hit "You Got It" -- it is a shame that Orbison was not around to experience his success. This comeback album represents Roy Orbison at his best. [An Expanded Edition added five bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2014
Label: Sony Legacy
UPC: 0888430595927
catalogNumber: 305959
Rank: 33788

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roy Orbison   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Steve Cropper   Guitar
George Harrison   Acoustic Guitar
Kooper   Organ
Jeff Lynne   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Tom Petty   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Billy Burnette   Acoustic Guitar,Background Vocals
Mike Campbell   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Mandolin,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar
Rick Vito   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Slide Guitar
Jim Keltner   Drums
Sid Page   Concert Master
Benmont Tench   Organ,Piano,Strings
Bono   Guitar
T Bone Burnett   Guitar
Gary Coleman   Percussion
Ray Cooper   Drums
Dennis Crouch   Upright Bass
Mickey Curry   Drums
Howie Epstein   Bass,Background Vocals
Mitchell Froom   Piano
Tony Harrell   Piano,Keyboards
Jim Horn   Horn
Phil Jones   Percussion,Drums
David Miner   String Bass
Barbara Orbison   Background Vocals
David Rhodes   Guitar
Jerry Scheff   String Bass
Mike Utley   Strings
Ian Wallace   Percussion,Drums
John Carter Cash   Acoustic Guitar
T-Bone Wolk   Electric Bass
Betsy Lamb   Viola
Sarah Wilfong   Violin
Emily Nelson   Cello
Kristin Weber   Violin
Orbison Brothers   Guitar,Drums,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Elvis Costello   Composer
Steve Cropper   Horn Arrangements
Jeff Lynne   Composer,Producer
Roy Orbison   Composer,Producer
Tom Petty   Composer
Louis Clark   String Conductor
Albert Hammond   Composer
Mike Campbell   Producer
Benmont Tench   Arranger
Bono   Producer
T Bone Burnett   Producer
Richard Dodd   Engineer
Kevin Killen   Engineer
Phil McDonald   Engineer
Barbara Orbison   Producer,Executive Producer
Rik Pekkonen   Engineer
Don Smith   Engineer
Mike Utley   String Arrangements
Diane Warren   Composer
Craig Wiseman   Composer
Paul Hewson   Composer
Melanie Nissen   Art Direction
Bill Dees   Composer
John Carter Cash   Producer
Sarah Peasall   Vocal Arrangements
Sarah Wilfong   Arranger,String Arrangements
Chuck Turner   Engineer
Alex Orbison   Executive Producer
David Evans   Composer
Chelsie Lykens   Art Direction
Wesley Orbison   Composer,Executive Producer
Orbison Brothers   Producer
Susan Berry   Personal Assistant
Jeff Aperoff   Art Direction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews