My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke

My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke

by Al JarreauAl Jarreau




Al Jarreau got his start playing in a jazz trio led by pianist/keyboardist George Duke, so it is fitting that Jarreau pays tribute to Duke, who passed away in 2013, on his 2014 album My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke. It was while working as a vocal rehab counselor at a hospital in San Francisco in the late '60s that Jarreau began singing with Duke's trio. It was also due in part to the popularity of these early performances that both musicians' storied solo careers were launched. On My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke, Jarreau delves into a batch of Duke compositions with a select group of guest artists, many of whom also had connections to Duke. Joining Jarreau here are such luminaries as Gerald Albright, Lalah Hathaway, Jeffrey Osborne, Dianne Reeves, and others. Similarly, backing Jarreau at various times is a superb ensemble of musicians including bassist Stanley Clarke (who also produced the album), keyboardists John Beasley and Patrice Rushen, guitarist Paul Jackson, Jr., and drummer John "J.R." Robinson. In fact, Duke himself makes an appearance here via the wonders of modern technology on the languidly romantic "Bring Me Joy." Elsewhere, Jarreau turns his sonorous, joyful voice to such Duke songs as "Sweet Baby," "No Rhyme, No Reason," "You Touch My Brain," and more. Ultimately, My Old Friend: Celebrating George Duke is a heartfelt tribute album that, as with many of Jarreau and Duke's previous albums, feels fresh, warm, and full of love.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2014
Label: Concord Records
UPC: 0888072353572
catalogNumber: 35357

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jarreau   Primary Artist,Vocals
Patrice Rushen   Piano,Keyboards
Gerald Albright   Saxophone
George Duke   Keyboards
John Beasley   Keyboards
Boney James   Tenor Saxophone
Alex Al   Bass
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Stanley Clarke   Bass,Background Vocals
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Marcus Miller   Bass,Bass Clarinet
Jeffrey Osborne   Background Vocals
Greg Phillinganes   Piano,Keyboards
Dianne Reeves   Vocals
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Kelly Price   Vocals
Jubu   Guitar
Omari Williams   Drums
Brandon Coleman   Keyboards,Key Bass
Fred Martin   Background Vocals
Rob Bacon   Guitar
Mike Cottone   Trumpet
Porcha Clay   Background Vocals
Patrick Lundquist   Background Vocals
Katriz Trinidad   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jarreau   Composer,Liner Notes
George Duke   Composer
Boney James   Programming,Producer,Engineer
John Burk   Producer
Stanley Clarke   Composer,Producer
Steve George   Composer
John Lang   Composer
Marcus Miller   Programming,Producer
Don Murray   Engineer
Jeffrey Osborne   Composer
Richard Page   Composer
David Rideau   Engineer
Peter Schless   Composer
Seth Presant   Engineer
Albert J. Roman   Art Direction
Misha Kachkachishvili   Vocal Engineer
Patrick Lundquist   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews