My First Counting Book (Little Golden Book Series)

My First Counting Book (Little Golden Book Series)

by Lilian Moore


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, January 22
98 New & Used Starting at $1.99


It's easy to learn counting with this classic Little Golden Book!

The rhythmic text, paired with heartwarming animal illustrations by Garth Williams, have made counting from one to ten a joy for nearly 60 years. A must for every toddler and preschooler's library.

Little Golden Books have been loved by children for over 75 years. When they were first published in 1942, high-quality books for children hadn’t been available at a price most people could afford. Little Golden Books changed that! Priced at just 25 cents and sold where people shopped every day, they caused an instant sensation and were soon purchased by the hundreds of thousands. Created by such talented writers as Margaret Wise Brown (author of Goodnight Moon) and Richard Scarry, Little Golden Books have helped millions of children develop a lifelong love of reading. Today, Little Golden Books feature beloved classics such as The Poky Little Puppy and Scuffy the Tugboat, hot licenses, and new original stories—the classics of tomorrow, ready to be discovered between their sturdy cardboard covers and gold-foil spines.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780307020673
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 02/28/2001
Series: Little Golden Book Series
Pages: 24
Sales rank: 26,000
Product dimensions: 6.69(w) x 8.06(h) x 0.19(d)
Age Range: 2 - 5 Years

About the Author

Lilian Moore (1909–2004) was a poet and an editor who helped make children’s books more affordable. She became the first editor of Scholastic’s Arrow Book Club and Lucky Book Club after suggesting in 1957, while already working at Scholastic, that the company offer low-cost paperback editions of its books through the mail. She was also a prolific author of children’s books, including Old Rosie, The Horse Nobody Understood, and the Little Raccoon series.  

Garth Williams (1912–1996) was known for his realistic yet highly expressive animal characters. He brought to life some of the best-loved children’s books of the twentieth century, including Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series and E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web and Stuart Little. Williams illustrated many timeless Golden Books, including Baby Farm AnimalsMister Dog, and The Friendly Book.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

My First Counting Book 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It has been 23 years and I can say each and every word by heart. Now my grandchild will grow uo knowing this book by heart just like my two daughters. I really think that this book helped my children learn to count. It kept their attention very well. I recommend this book to every parent who is raising children and to every grandparent.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is hard to find an engaging counting book for ages 2 to 5. Little Golden Books does it again! The illustrations look realistic, and are 'more welcoming' than photos. A great book for toddlers!
psycheKK More than 1 year ago
After reading so many books written in choppy rhyme, this book was a delight to read out loud.  The rhyming schemes do not match from number to number, but within each "verse" the rhyming scheme and meter work beautifully.  It was reminiscent of reading nursery rhymes.  Garth Williams illustrated this book.  Garth Williams. the illustrator of Little House on the Prairie book and of Charlotte's Web, illustrated this book.  Yeah, that Garth Williams. 
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is excellent. Definately five stars.