Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 30


Although seemingly impossible to comprehend, this landmark jazz date made in 1960 was recorded in less than three days. All the more remarkable is that the same sessions which yielded My Favorite Things would also inform a majority of the albums Coltrane Plays the Blues, Coltrane's Sound, and Coltrane Legacy. It is easy to understand the appeal that these sides continue to hold. The unforced, practically casual soloing styles of the assembled quartet -- which includes Coltrane (soprano/tenor sax), McCoy Tyner (piano), Steve Davis (bass), and Elvin Jones (drums) -- allow for tastefully executed passages à la the Miles Davis Quintet, a trait Coltrane no doubt honed during his tenure in that band. Each track of this album is a joy to revisit. The ultimate listenability may reside in this quartet's capacity to not be overwhelmed by the soloist. Likewise, they are able to push the grooves along surreptitiously and unfettered. For instance, the support that the trio -- most notably Tyner -- gives to Coltrane on the title track winds the melody in and around itself. However, instead of becoming entangled and directionless, these musical sidebars simultaneously define the direction the song is taking. As a soloist, the definitive soprano sax runs during the Cole Porter standard "Everytime We Say Goodbye" and tenor solos on "But Not for Me" easily establish Coltrane as a pioneer of both instruments.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2013
Label: Rhino/Wea Uk
UPC: 0081227535018
catalogNumber: 2753501
Rank: 846


  1. My Favorite Things
  2. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
  3. Summertime
  4. But Not for Me

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Coltrane   Primary Artist,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Elvin Jones   Drums
Jimmy Garrison   Bass
McCoy Tyner   Piano
Steve Davis   Bass

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Ahmet Ertegun   Liner Notes
Nesuhi Ertegun   Producer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Phil Iehle   Engineer
Claude Nobs   Liner Notes
Loring Eutemey   Cover Design
Lee Friedlander   Cover Photo
Bill Coss   Liner Notes
Urs Tschuppert   Booklet Design
Yves Bigot   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews