My Brother the Wind, Vol. 1

My Brother the Wind, Vol. 1

by Sun Ra & His Astro Infinity ArkestraSun Ra & His Astro Infinity Arkestra


$14.48 $14.99 Save 3% Current price is $14.48, Original price is $14.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


My Brother the Wind is actually more a companion piece to Night of the Purple Moon than its Vol. 2 namesake. My Brother the Wind, Vol. 2 is split between Ra's solo Moog workouts and full Arkestra proceedings, while My Brother the Wind shares the same lineup as Night of the Purple Moon, with Marshall Allen's alto, piccolo, and flute substituting for Stafford James' electric bass. Ra plays two miniMoogs instead of miniMoog and Rocksichord, with Danny Davis on alto and clarinet and John Gilmore on drums. But while the focus on Night of the Purple Moon was on composed numbers, My Brother the Wind is a much freer session. The title cut is just Ra on his two miniMoogs and Gilmore on drums. One Moog has a bass type setting, while the other sounds something like whistling white noise (wind?). "Intergalaxtic II" is a full freakout session, with both altos going crazy in the right channel, Gilmore's drums in the left channel, and the miniMoogs in the center. "To Nature's God" is just Ra and Gilmore again. "The Code of Interdependence" has Ra really putting the Moogs through their paces, although Gilmore also gets some tenor space (with Danny Davis moving to the drums, presumably). If you're into the "out" side of Sun Ra, and like his singular and unorthodox Moog playing, try to find a copy of My Brother the Wind.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/11/2017
Label: Cosmic Myth Records
UPC: 0881626608326
catalogNumber: 2
Rank: 43545


  1. Warmup
  2. My Brother the Wind
  3. Intergalactic II
  4. To Nature's God
  5. The Code of Interdependence
  6. The Perfect Man (Warmup and Breakdown)
  7. The Perfect Man
  8. The Perfect Man (False Starts)
  9. The Perfect Man (False Starts)
  10. The Perfect Man (False Starts)
  11. The Perfect Man
  12. The Perfect Man
  13. Space Probe

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sun Ra & His Astro Infinity Arkestra   Primary Artist
John Gilmore   Percussion,Drums,Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
Marshall Allen   Flute,Oboe,Piccolo,Alto Saxophone,Group Member
Sun Ra   Moog Synthesizer,Group Member
Danny Davis   Clarinet,Drums,Alto Saxophone,Alto Clarinet,Group Member

Technical Credits

Irwin Chusid   Reissue Producer,Cover Art
Sun Ra   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Peter Wright   Executive Producer
Ben Young   Liner Notes
Michael D. Anderson   Reissue Producer,Tape Archivist
Edley Odowd   Art Direction,Cover Art,Layout
John Allen   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews