by Herbie HancockHerbie Hancock


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 30


With the formation of his great electric sextet, Herbie Hancock's music took off into outer and inner space, starting with the landmark Mwandishi album recorded in a single session on New Year's Eve. Ever the gadgeteer, Herbie plays with electronic effects devices -- reverb units, stereo tremelo, and Echoplex -- which all lead his music into spacier, open-ended directions very much influenced by Miles Davis' electric experiments, rendering it from post-bop conventions. There are just three tracks: the insistent 15/4-meter Afro-electric-funk workout "Ostinato (Suite for Angela)," the inquisitive "You'll Know When You Get There" with its ethereal Hancock voicings, and trombonist Julian Priester's "Silent Way"-influenced "Wandering Spirit Song," which eventually dips into tumultuous free form. Eddie Henderson emerges as a major trumpet soloist here, probing, jabbing, soliloquizing; Bennie Maupin comes over from Lee Morgan's group to add his ominous bass clarinet and thoughtful alto flute; and Buster Williams' bass and Billy Hart's flexible drums propel the rhythm section. Santana's José Chepitó Areas and Leon "Ndugu" Chancler also add funky percussive reinforcement to "Ostinato," along with guitarist Ron Montrose. The group's collective empathy is remarkable, and Hancock had only begun to probe the outer limits with this extraordinary music.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2003
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0093624754121
catalogNumber: 247541
Rank: 34504


  1. Ostinato (Suite for Angela)
  2. You'll Know When You Get There
  3. Wandering Spirit Song

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herbie Hancock   Primary Artist,Piano
Ronnie Montrose   Guitar
Billy Hart   Percussion,Drums
Bennie Maupin   Percussion,Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Wind,Multiple Reeds
Julian Priester   Trombone
Eddie Henderson   Percussion,Trumpet,Flugelhorn
José "Chepito" Areas   Guitar,Percussion,Conga,Timbales
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Percussion,Drums
Buster Williams   Bass,Percussion

Technical Credits

Herbie Hancock   Composer
Fred Catero   Engineer
David Rubinson   Producer
Bonnie Schiffman   Cover Design
Robin Mitchell   Cover Design
Stuart Nicholson   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews