Muriel Spark: The Biography

Muriel Spark: The Biography

by Martin Stannard


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


Born in 1918 into a working-class Edinburgh family, Muriel Spark became the epitome of literary chic and one of the great writers of the twentieth century. Her autobiography, Curriculum Vitae: A Volume of Autobiography, recorded her early years but politely blurred her darker moments: troubled relations with her family, a terrifying period of hallucinations, and disastrous affairs with the men she loved. Spark gave Martin Stannard full access to her papers. He interviewed her many times as well as speaking to her colleagues, friends, and family members.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780810127913
Publisher: Northwestern University Press
Publication date: 10/31/2011
Pages: 670
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.60(d)

About the Author

Martin Stannard is a professor of modern English literature at the University of Leicester, where he has taught since 1979. He was previously Leverhulme Research Fellow in English Literature at the University of Edinburgh. He is the author of Muriel Spark: The Biography, Evelyn Waugh, The Early Years: 1903–1939 and Evelyn Waugh, The Later Years: 1939–1966, and editor of Evelyn Waugh, The Critical Heritage. His many articles and reviews have appeared in Modern Language Review, Essays in Criticism, the New York Times Book Review, the Times Higher Education Supplement, and Novel, among other publications.

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations


Preface: The Cake Be Damned

1 Night and Day: 1962-1918

2 Home and Away: 1918-1937

3 Out ofAf rica: 1937-1945

4 Finding a Voice: 1945-1949

5 Kensington: 1949-1951

6 Sacramental: 1951-1954

7 Conversion: 1954-1957

8 Acquiring Lorgnettes: 1957-1959

9 Exposure: 1959-1960

10 Transfiguration: 1960-1962

11 Time / Life: 1962-1963

12 Amours de Voyage: 1963-1965

13 Looking Round: 1965-1968

14 In the Driver’s Seat: 1968-1970

15 Lucrezia Borgia in Trousers: 1971-1974

16 The Realm ofMythology: 1974-1979

17 Goodbye, Goodbye, Goodbye, Goodbye: 1979-1982

18 A Speck in the Distance: 1982-1988

19 Settling the Bill: 1988-1992

20 Dark Music: 1992-2006


Note on References


Select Bibliography


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews