Mr. Mee: A Novel

Mr. Mee: A Novel

by Andrew Crumey

Paperback(First Edition)

$23.00
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

A New York Times Notable Book of the Year

In this inventive novel, octogenarian book collector Mr. Mee discovers the Internet with life-changing results. Told from the points of view of the guileless Mr. Mee, two eighteenth century French philosophers, and a middle-aged university professor, Andrew Crumey's book concerns the creation and mysterious disappearance of Rosier's Encyclopedia, an explosive text written more than two hundred years ago that purportedly disproves the existence of the universe. At times funny, often thought-provoking, and completely engaging, Mr. Mee is Crumey's most rewarding novel to date.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Fans of Tom Stoppard and Michael Frayn will relish this novel's puzzles and paradoxes, its unfolding and ingenious designs.” —Hilary Mantel, The New York Times Book Review

“[A] learned romp . . . enriching, enlightening, and highly entertaining.” —Barbara Fischer, The Boston Globe

“Like a tromp l'oeil painting, or a puzzle that invites us to draw at least two contradictory, yet equally plausible conclusions . . . Mr. Mee disturbs as it diverts, charms as it challenges.” —Merle Rubin, The Washington Times

“It's the rare novel that makes you want to begin anew as soon as you've finished the last page . . . [Mr. Mee is] one to savor.” —Andrew C. Ervin, The Washington Post Book World

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780312282356
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 03/06/2002
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 352
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.79(d)

Customer Reviews