Motown Number 1's

Motown Number 1's

CD(Bonus Tracks / Repackaged / Special Packaging)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 17


Owner of one of the deepest catalogs in music history, Motown/Universal allows very few recordings to escape the clutches of its archive. Once they're available, however, they're repackaged in endless permutations; such it was when Motown was ten years old, and such it was as the company approached its 45th anniversary. Motown 1*s, a collection of 24 number one hits enjoyed by the label, ranges through four decades for its material -- from "Please Mr. Postman" by the Marvelettes to "I'll Make Love to You" by Boyz II Men -- and provides the very broadest of hits anthologies. It is an excellent selection, perhaps skimping on Stevie Wonder and Smokey Robinson, but never spending too much time with any one artist (which allows the disc to survey Junior Walker as well as latter-day artists Thelma Houston, the Commodores, and DeBarge). Motown 1*s is presented in chronological order, with a baker's dozen of tracks from the '60s, and 11 from the '70s or later. Unnecessary for soul fans much less collectors, Motown 1*s works best for its intended audience -- those with no prior experience who wish to understand why the Motown conglomeration of singers, songwriters, musicians, and executives comprised the premier pop music organization of all time. [The bonus track, a cover of "Ain't No Mountain High Enough" by Michael McDonald, is a fine reminder of how far the label's influence has carried.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/20/2004
Label: Motown
UPC: 0602498614723
catalogNumber: 000178102
Rank: 33509


  1. Intro
  2. Please Mr. Postman
  3. (Love Is Like A) Heat Wave
  4. My Guy
  5. My Girl
  6. Where Did Our Love Go
  7. Stop! In the Name of Love
  8. Shotgun
  9. I Can't Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)
  10. Uptight (Everything's Alright)
  11. Ain't Too Proud to Beg
  12. Reach Out (I'll Be There)
  13. Ain't Nothing Like the Real Thing
  14. I Heard It Through the Grapevine
  15. I Want You Back
  16. War
  17. The Tears of a Clown
  18. What's Going On
  19. Let's Get It On
  20. Love Machine, Pt. 1
  21. Don't Leave Me This Way
  22. Three Times a Lady
  23. Endless Love
  24. Rhythm of the Night
  25. I'll Make Love to You
  26. Ain't No Mountain High Enough

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Babyface   Composer,Producer
Commodores   Arranger,Producer
Marvin Gaye   Composer,Producer
Lionel Richie   Composer,Producer
Smokey Robinson   Composer,Producer
Gene Page   Arranger
Barrett Strong   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer,Producer
Renaldo Benson   Composer
James Anthony Carmichael   Arranger,Producer
Cleveland   Composer
Simon Climie   Arranger,Producer
Henry Cosby   Composer,Producer
Hal Davis   Producer
Lamont Dozier   Composer,Producer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Cary Gilbert   Composer
Berry Gordy   Producer
Rene Hall   Arranger
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer,Producer
Lawrence Horn   Producer
Leon Huff   Composer
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
Freddie Perren   Producer
Richard Perry   Producer
Valerie Simpson   Composer,Producer
William "Mickey" Stevenson   Producer
Ed Townsend   Composer,Producer
David Van De Pitte   Arranger
Diane Warren   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer,Producer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Adrian Wright   Liner Notes
Art Wright   Arranger
Vartan   Art Direction
Georgia Dobbins   Composer
Sylvia Moy   Composer
Ronald White   Composer
William Griffin   Composer
William Garrett   Composer
Toby Baker   Arranger
Autry DeWalt   Composer
Robert Bateman   Composer
Corporation   Arranger,Composer,Producer
BrianBert   Producer
Jenny Shapiro   Licensing
Freddie Gorman   Composer

Customer Reviews