Motown [UK Bonus Track]

Motown [UK Bonus Track]

by Michael McDonaldMichael McDonald


View All Available Formats & Editions
1 New & Used Starting at $8.27


Michael McDonald never disguises what his seventh solo album is: the title Motown makes it clear that this 2003 effort is a tribute to the glory days of Berry Gordy's Detroit empire. McDonald never strays too far from that thesis, occasionally dipping into the late '70s for material (he takes on Marvin Gaye's "I Want You") and sometimes choosing to wax relatively obscure items from Motown's vast, rich catalog, but for the most part, this is devoted to the songs that you know by heart, whether you were a kid in the '60s or raised on oldies radio. Since this is McDonald, not a neo-soul neophyte, this is cleanly and sharply produced, relying heavily on synthesizers, drum machines, and professional vocalists, but anybody who has spent any time with his solo records will find this not to be objectionable, but par for the course. If McDonald doesn't reinvent these songs -- hell, he uses the original arrangements as a blueprint, then cleans them up -- he does display a love and reverence for the work, and his singing is passionate throughout. Ultimately, Motown doesn't add much to his discography, but for those who love McDonald and Motown in equal measures, it's a fine listen. [This U.K. version of the album includes bonus material.]

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2003
Label: Universal Import
UPC: 0602498002339
catalogNumber: 980023

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael McDonald   Primary Artist,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,fender rhodes
Larry Carlton   Guitar
Bob James   Keyboards
Amy Holland   Background Vocals
Tracie Ackerman   Background Vocals
Simon Climie   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Mark Douthit   Saxophone
Nathan East   Bass
Ricky Lawson   Drums
Audrey Martells   Background Vocals
Harvey Mason   Percussion,Drums
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Tommy Sims   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Tony Swain   Synthesizer,fender rhodes
Duawne Starling   Background Vocals
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Leon Ware   Background Vocals
Tim Akers   Hammond Organ
Kevin Whalum   Background Vocals
Paul Waller   Percussion
Tim Carmon   Hammond Organ
Gale Mayes-West   Background Vocals
Tammy Taylor   Background Vocals
Toby Baker   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards,Synthesizer Voices
Jennifer Karr   Background Vocals
Chris Rodriguez   Electric Guitar,Sitar
Nicky "Misschief" Shaw   Percussion,Drums
Alfreda McCrary Lee   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Marvin Gaye   Composer
Michael McDonald   Arranger
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Bob James   Arranger
Barrett Strong   Composer
Lee Garrett   Composer
Fourplay   Arranger
Nick Ashford   Composer
Thom Bell   Composer
Simon Climie   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Pro-Tools
Linda Creed   Composer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Shannon Forrest   Engineer,Pro-Tools
Ben Fowler   Engineer
Gwen Fuqua   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
Nick Ingman   String Arrangements
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
Don Murray   Engineer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Tony Swain   Executive Producer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Gavyn Wright   String Conductor
Syreeta Wright   Composer
Yvonne Wright   Composer
Leon Ware   Composer
Grady Walker   Engineer
Michael Wilson   Cover Photo
Paul Waller   Programming
Adam Brown   Engineer
Sandra Greene   Composer
Toby Baker   Arranger,Programming,drum programming
Arthur Ross   Composer
Lula Mae Hardaway   Composer
Nicky "Misschief" Shaw   Arranger,Programming,Drum Editing
Cliff Masterson   String Arrangements
Jerry Ross   Composer
Alan Douglas   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews