Mothership [Bonus DVD]

Mothership [Bonus DVD]

by Led ZeppelinLed Zeppelin

CD(Remastered / Special Edition / Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Led Zeppelin's reunion for an Ahmet Ertegun tribute concert in November 2007 (pushed back a couple of weeks due to a finger injury Jimmy Page sustained during rehearsals) seemed like a spur of the moment thing -- but how spontaneous could it have been if it just happened to coincide with the release of an expanded The Song Remains the Same on both CD and DVD, the debut of their catalog as digital downloads, and the new two-disc compilation Mothership as a sampler of the whole shebang? Considering this full-scale, multi-prong assault -- which also included a new album by Robert Plant, after all -- it was probably not all that spontaneous. Such a precise attack suits this most mythic of classic rock groups, who always benefited from an enormous sense of scale. Weighing in at two discs and 24 tracks, Mothership has a sense of scale that the previous round of compilations -- the two-part Early Days & Latter Days, delivered in 1999 and 2000 respectively -- lacked, not just because it pushes these two phases together but because it is heavy on the heavy epics, emphasizing Zeppelin's sheer sonic ballast over either their lighter or more idiosyncratic moments. This effects the second disc more than the first, as the band started out heavy and expanded outward, and while it would have been nice if "Fool in the Rain" represented In Through the Out Door instead of "In the Evening," this is a minor quibble as Mothership hits the obvious high points without seeming perfunctory. And that, along with Page's new remastering, is the real selling point behind Mothership: as a compilation it is both gripping listening and a good introduction to this very album-oriented band, which is what makes it a welcome addition to their catalog. [The deluxe edition of Mothership contains a DVD with highlights from their eponymous live DVD -- it's a nice bonus but really, you'd be better off getting the full set.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/13/2007
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227996130
catalogNumber: 313212
Rank: 17674


Disc 1

  1. Good Times Bad Times
  2. Communication Breakdown
  3. Dazed and Confused
  4. Babe I'm Gonna Leave You
  5. Whole Lotta Love
  6. Ramble On
  7. Heartbreaker
  8. Immigrant Song
  9. Since I've Been Loving You
  10. Rock and Roll
  11. Black Dog
  12. When the Levee Breaks
  13. Stairway to Heaven

Disc 2

  1. Song Remains the Same
  2. Over the Hills and Far Away
  3. D'Yer Mak'er
  4. No Quarter
  5. Trampled Under Foot
  6. Houses of the Holy
  7. Kashmir
  8. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  9. Achilles Last Stand
  10. In the Evening
  11. All My Love

Disc 3

  1. [DVD]
  2. I Can't Quit You Baby
  3. Dazed and Confused
  4. White Summer
  5. What Is and What Should Never Be
  6. Moby Dick
  7. Whole Lotta Love
  8. Communication Breakdown
  9. Bring It on Home
  10. Immigrant Song
  11. Black Dog
  12. Misty Mountain Hop
  13. The Ocean
  14. Going to California
  15. In My Time of Dying
  16. Stairway to Heaven
  17. Rock and Roll
  18. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  19. Kashmir
  20. Whole Lotta Love

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Led Zeppelin   Primary Artist
Jimmy Page   Guitar
Robert Plant   Vocals
John Paul Jones   Drums
John Bonham   Drums

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Memphis Minnie   Composer
Ben E. King   Composer
Jimmy Page   Composer,Producer
Robert Plant   Composer
John Paul Jones   Composer
Anne Bredon   Composer
James Albert Bethea   Composer
John Bonham   Composer
George Chkiantz   Engineer
Glyn Johns   Engineer
Keith Harwood   Engineer
Andy Johns   Engineer
Eddie Kramer   Engineer
Leif Mases   Engineer
Ron Nevison   Engineer
David Fricke   Liner Notes
Shepard Fairey   Art Direction
Stargroves   Engineer

Customer Reviews