Mothership Connection [Bonus Track]

Mothership Connection [Bonus Track]

by ParliamentParliament

CD(Bonus Tracks)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The definitive Parliament-Funkadelic album, Mothership Connection is where George Clinton's revolving band lineups, differing musical approaches, and increasingly thematic album statements reached an ideal state, one that resulted in enormous commercial success as well as a timeless legacy that would be compounded by hip-hop postmodernists, most memorably Dr. Dre on his landmark album The Chronic (1992). The musical lineup assembled for Mothership Connection is peerless: in addition to keyboard wizard Bernie Worrell; Bootsy Collins, who plays not only bass but also drums and guitar; the guitar trio of Gary Shider, Michael Hampton, and Glen Goins; and the Brecker Brothers (Michael and Randy) on horns; there are former J.B.'s Fred Wesley and Maceo Parker (also on horns), who were the latest additions to the P-Funk stable. Besides the dazzling array of musicians, Mothership Connection boasts a trio of hands-down classics -- "P-Funk (Wants to Get Funked Up)," "Mothership Connection (Star Child)," "Give Up the Funk (Tear the Roof off the Sucker)" -- that are among the best to ever arise from the funk era, each sampled and interpolated time and time again by rap producers; in particular, Dr. Dre pays homage to the former two on The Chronic (on "The Roach" and "Let Me Ride," respectively). The remaining four songs on Mothership Connection are all great also, if less canonical. Lastly, there's the overlapping outer-space theme, which ties the album together into a loose escapist narrative. There's no better starting point in the enormous P-Funk catalog than Mothership Connection, which, like its trio of classic songs, is undoubtedly among the best of the funk era.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/08/2003
Label: Mercury
UPC: 0044007703229
catalogNumber: 077032
Rank: 18823

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Parliament   Primary Artist
Bernie Worrell   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Michael Brecker   Horn
Maceo Parker   Horn
Sidney Barnes   Voices,Hand Clapping
Bootsy Collins   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Randy Brecker   Horn
George Clinton   Vocals
Gary Cooper   Percussion,Drums,Voices,Hand Clapping
Raymond Davis   Vocals
Joe Farrell   Horn
Glen Goins   Guitar,Vocals
Michael Hampton   Guitar
Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins   Vocals
Taka Khan   Voices,Hand Clapping
Cordell Mosson   Bass
Garry Shider   Guitar,Vocals
Calvin Simon   Vocals
Grady Thomas   Vocals
Pamela Vincent   Voices,Hand Clapping
Fred Wesley   Horn
Reginald Rasputin Boutte   Voices,Hand Clapping
Bryan Chimenti   Voices,Hand Clapping
Archie Ivy   Voices,Hand Clapping
Deborah Wright   Voices,Hand Clapping
Debbie Edwards   Voices,Hand Clapping

Technical Credits

Bernie Worrell   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Bootsy Collins   Composer,rhythm arrangement
Jerome Brailey   Composer
George Clinton   Composer,Producer,Concept,rhythm arrangement
B. Collins   Composer
Glen Goins   Composer
Garry Shider   Composer
Jim Vitti   Sound Effects
Fred Wesley   Horn Arrangements
Tom Vickers   Liner Notes
Mathieu Bitton   Reissue Design
Gary Snider   Composer
Gribbitt!   Art Direction
Janet McLaughlin   Composer

Customer Reviews