More Songs of Route 66: Roadside Attractions

More Songs of Route 66: Roadside Attractions


$14.03 $15.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.03, Original price is $15.99. You Save 12%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


More Songs of Route 66: Roadside Attractions, a follow-up to the 1995 various artists album The Songs of Route 66, Music From the All-American Highway, is, like its predecessor, a project put together by Asleep at the Wheel drummer David Sanger for his Lazy S.O.B. Records label. It can be thought of as an Asleep at the Wheel side project, featuring the band itself on one track ("Albuquerque") and band members like Cindy Cashdollar and Jason Roberts on others. The idea is to create a musical trip along Route 66 on its way from Chicago to Los Angeles, utilizing existing songs like the inevitable "Route 66," "Sweet Home Chicago," "You Came a Long Way from St. Louis," and "California Sun" where possible, and adding some newly written ones to fill in stops such as Tucumcari and Gallup. The musical style shifts with the geography, beginning with Chicago blues, including a large portion of Western swing, and concluding with rock and folk. (Particularly notable is the previously unrecorded Woody Guthrie/Pete Seeger composition "66 Highway Blues," sung by Steve James, which closes the disc.) Sanger has assembled a talented team of musicians ranging from established figures like Marcia Ball to up-and-comers like Two High String Band, most of them hailing from Texas. The sound is consistent from one track to another, making the whole album sound like a really good night in a roadhouse somewhere along Route 66.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2001
Label: Lazy Sob
UPC: 0713986000826
catalogNumber: 8
Rank: 83883

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marcia Ball   Piano,Vocals
Asleep at the Wheel   Track Performer
LeRoi Brothers   Track Performer
Keith Robinson   Drums
Steve James   Track Performer
Ray Benson   Vocals
Sarah Brown   Bass
Mike Buck   Drums
Cindy Cashdollar   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Steve Doerr   Electric Guitar,Vocals
Floyd Domino   Piano,Electric Piano
Michael Francis   Tenor Saxophone
Paul Klemperer   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Jimmy LaFave   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Marty Muse   Steel Guitar
Derek O'Brien   Guitar
Maryann Price   Vocals
Gary Primich   Harmonica,Vocals
Herb Remington   Steel Guitar
David Sanger   Drums
Spencer Starnes   Bass
David Webb   Organ
Dale Watson   Guitar,Vocals
Chris Miller   Steel Guitar
Brad Fordham   Bass
Bob Meyer   Trumpet,Alto Saxophone
Stewart Cochran   Organ
Larry Wilson   Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar
Dave Biller   Guitar
Lisa Pankratz   Drums
Casper Rawls   Electric Guitar
Bobby Rey   Tenor Saxophone
Nick Connelly   Piano
Randy Garibay   Guitar,Vocals
Ben Han   Electric Guitar
Pat Collins   Bass
Red Dirt Rangers   Background Vocals
Jim Stringer   Guitar
Benny Craig   Steel Guitar
Bradley Piccolo   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Bob Wiles   Bass,Background Vocals
David Earl Miller   Bass,Background Vocals
Two High String Band   Track Performer
John Cooper   Percussion,Background Vocals
Rick McCrae   Guitar
Don Bennett   Bass
Jason Roberts   Acoustic Guitar,Fiddle,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Leon McAuliffe   Engineer
Joe McDermott   Engineer
Mary Cutrufello   Tic Tac
Mark Nathan   Engineer

Customer Reviews