Monster [25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition]

Monster [25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition]

by R.E.M.

CD(Special Edition / Anniversary Edition / Bonus CD)

$69.06 $79.99 Save 14% Current price is $69.06, Original price is $79.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
5 New & Used Starting at $61.20


Monster is indeed R.E.M.'s long-promised "rock" album; it just doesn't rock in the way one might expect. Instead of R.E.M.'s trademark anthemic bashers, Monster offers a set of murky sludge, powered by the heavily distorted and delayed guitar of Peter Buck. Michael Stipe's vocals have been pushed to the back of the mix, along with Bill Berry's drums, which accentuates the muscular pulse of Buck's chords. From the androgynous sleaze of "Crush With Eyeliner" to the subtle, Eastern-tinged menace of "You," most of the album sounds dense, dirty, and grimy, which makes the punchy guitars of "What's the Frequency, Kenneth?" and the warped soul of "Tongue" all the more distinctive. Monster doesn't have the conceptual unity or consistently brilliant songwriting of Automatic for the People, but it does offer a wide range of sonic textures that have never been heard on an R.E.M. album before.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/2019
Label: Craft Recordings
UPC: 0888072111523
catalogNumber: 237
Rank: 1895

Album Credits

Performance Credits

R.E.M.   Primary Artist
Scott McCaughey   Musician
Peter Buck   Group Member
Mike Mills   Group Member
Michael Stipe   Group Member
Bill Berry   Group Member
Bertis Downs   Group Member
Jefferson Holt   Group Member
Nathan December   Musician
Joe O'Herlihy   Sounds

Technical Credits

Mark Howard   Engineer
Jeff DeMorris   Engineer
Mark Gruber   Engineer
Scott Litt   Producer
R.E.M.   Producer
Michael Stipe   Art Direction
Chris Bilheimer   Art Direction
Spike Jonze   Direction
Jo Ravitch   Sound Crew
Robert Weber   Bass Technician
Bill Thomson   Drum Technician
Peter Care   Direction
Jonathan Dayton   Direction
Mark Romanek   Direction
Valerie Faris   Direction
Mark Mytrowitz   Backline Technician
Jeffery Rivers   Drum Technician
Pat McCarthy   Engineer
David May   Producer
David Colvin   Engineer
Randy Skinner   Direction
Era Wadi   Monitor Engineer
Matthew Perpetua   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews