Monster [25th Anniversary Edition]

Monster [25th Anniversary Edition]

by R.E.M.

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - Remastered / Anniversary Edition / 180 Gram Vinyl)

$18.99 $21.99 Save 14% Current price is $18.99, Original price is $21.99. You Save 14%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, January 28
4 New & Used Starting at $18.98


Monster is indeed R.E.M.'s long-promised "rock" album; it just doesn't rock in the way one might expect. Instead of R.E.M.'s trademark anthemic bashers, Monster offers a set of murky sludge, powered by the heavily distorted and delayed guitar of Peter Buck. Michael Stipe's vocals have been pushed to the back of the mix, along with Bill Berry's drums, which accentuates the muscular pulse of Buck's chords. From the androgynous sleaze of "Crush With Eyeliner" to the subtle, Eastern-tinged menace of "You," most of the album sounds dense, dirty, and grimy, which makes the punchy guitars of "What's the Frequency, Kenneth?" and the warped soul of "Tongue" all the more distinctive. Monster doesn't have the conceptual unity or consistently brilliant songwriting of Automatic for the People, but it does offer a wide range of sonic textures that have never been heard on an R.E.M. album before.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/01/2019
Label: Craft Recordings
UPC: 0888072111486
catalogNumber: 240
Rank: 13597

Album Credits

Performance Credits

R.E.M.   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews