Moloch: Three Early Dystopian Novels by H. G. Wells, Jack London, and Robert Hugh Benson

Moloch: Three Early Dystopian Novels by H. G. Wells, Jack London, and Robert Hugh Benson

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


*Contains Jack London's The Iron Heel, H.G. Wells' The Sleeper Awakes, and Robert Hugh Benson's Lord of the World, three dystopian novels that were published within ten years of each other and ushered in the genre.
*Contains an introduction by Luke Hartwell
Before Huxley, before Orwell, and long before Fahrenheit 451, A Clockwork Orange, Blade Runner, and The Hunger Games, a trio of authors wrote what today are considered the first dystopian novels. Jack London's The Iron Heel has been hailed by some critics as the greatest of all dystopian novels. Published in 1908, the novel is a prophetic warning of the dangers of capitalist excess. Read together, the three novels provide an interesting testament to how three novelists writing during the same time period had a foreboding of bad things to come and how they envisioned the horrors playing out. Considering the evils of fascism, communism, and corporatism that followed, all three novels were on target in one way or another. Like Brave New World, 1984, and Fahrenheit 451, the novels provide entertaining, provocative reading. Even contemporary fans of The Hunger Games should find much to like in these early precursors of the genre. This collection is introduced and edited by Luke Hartwell, author of Atom Heart John Beloved.
Watersgreen House is an independent international book publisher with editorial staff in the UK and USA. One of our aims at Watersgreen House is to showcase same-sex affection in works by important gay and bisexual authors in ways which were not possible at the time the books were originally published. We also publish nonfiction, including textbooks, as well as contemporary fiction that is literary, unusual, and provocative.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940150354449
Publisher: Watersgreen House
Publication date: 04/07/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 390
Sales rank: 1,189,187
File size: 781 KB

About the Author

Editor Luke Hartwell is author of the novels Atom Heart John Beloved, Nathan's Story, and Love Underneath. Jack London is the well-known author of Call of the Wild, White Fang, and other tales of the arctic, the sea, and the future. H.G. Wells is the equally famous author of War of the Worlds, The Time Machine, and other science fiction works. Robert Hugh Benson is best known for the work included here, Lord of the World.

Customer Reviews