Moana [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Moana [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

by Opetaia Foa'iOpetaia Foa'i


$9.75 $11.99 Save 19% Current price is $9.75, Original price is $11.99. You Save 19%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Moana is the 56th animated feature from Disney, an ocean adventure about a teenaged girl from a tribal community on a mystical island in the South Pacific. Its soundtrack offers both 45 minutes of score and a set of original songs co-written by a trio of musicians with impressive pedigrees. They include frequent Disney collaborator Mark Mancina, who worked with Phil Collins on 1999's Tarzan and 2003's Brother Bear. He's joined by singer/songwriter Opetaia Foa'i, leader of the Polynesian worldbeat group Te Vaka (who can be heard here), and Lin-Manuel Miranda, creator of the Pulitzer-winning Broadway smash Hamilton. The original score is by Mancina, who also penned scores for Disney's Tarzan, Brother Bear, and Planes, among others. Also a veteran of electronics-aided action scores for films like Speed and Con Air, Mancina sticks to an orchestral palette for Moana that highlights brass and group drumming, as on "Prologue" and "Tamatoa's Lair." Mallet percussion, pitched drums, flutes, and choir also distinguish the soundtrack's overall sound. Mancina recorded the vast majority of the score live in the studio with humans and "real" instruments, lending to an authentic feel. The main draw here, though, will be the original songs. Speaking of authenticity, the songs, thankfully, avoid prior Disney faux pas and outright offenses with regard to ethnic stereotyping. They managed this with a conscientious crew and the involvement of Foa'i, a Samoan-born musician with expertise in the region's traditional music. The songs' strong melodies, choral harmonies, and indigenous rhythms may draw certain comparisons to The Lion King, though Moana carves its own path. It does so with an ease that pervades both Foa'i's melodies and Miranda's way with natural-sounding syntax and rhythm. Highlights include "We Know the Way," sung by Miranda and Foa'i, and the soaring "How Far I'll Go," delivered by Auli'i Carvalho in the title role, with a second version by Canadian pop singer Alessia Cara. Among other names appearing on the soundtrack are Dwayne Johnson, who sings "You're Welcome" as Maui, and Jermaine Clement of Flight of the Conchords, who sings "Shiny" as the menacing crab Tamatoa. Closing out the song portion of the album and bringing listeners back to contemporary reality are Jordan Fisher and a rapping Miranda in a reprise of "You're Welcome."

Product Details

Release Date: 11/18/2016
Label: Walt Disney Records
UPC: 0050087349134
catalogNumber: 002434302
Rank: 1498


  1. Tulou Tagaloa
  2. An Innocent Warrior
  3. Where You Are
  4. How Far I'll Go
  5. We Know The Way
  6. How Far I'll Go (Reprise)
  7. You're Welcome
  8. Shiny
  9. Logo Te Pate
  10. I Am Moana (Song of the Ancestors)
  11. Know Who You Are
  12. We Know The Way (Finale)
  13. How Far I'll Go
  14. You're Welcome
  15. Prologue
  16. He Was You
  17. Village Crazy Lady
  18. Cavern
  19. The Ocean Chose You
  20. The Hook
  21. Tala's Deathbed
  22. Battle of Wills
  23. Kakamora
  24. Wayfinding
  25. Climbing
  26. Tamatoa's Lair
  27. Great Escape
  28. If I Were the Ocean
  29. Te Ka Attacks
  30. Maui Leaves
  31. Heartache
  32. Tala Returns
  33. Sails to Te Fiti
  34. Shiny Heart
  35. Te Fiti Restored
  36. Hand of a God
  37. Voyager Tagaloa
  38. Toe Feiloa'i
  39. Navigating Home
  40. The Return to Voyaging

Album Credits

Customer Reviews